Green Moms Carnival Eco Confessions

Bless me Mother Earth for I have sinned, it’s been absolutely ages since my last eco confession.

This post is for this month’s Green Mom’s Carnival. hosted by author Jenn Savedge at The Green Parent

These are just a few of my recent not so green ways:

My container garden with all my best grow my own food intention is overgrown with weeds. It doesn’t help that it’s rained and rained and rained.  As I have done in the past I plant my seeds and then typically ignore. I should be ashamed of myself. This time I stupidly planted seeds and then completely forget to write down what I planted in each container. As things started to sprout I found I didn’t know which was a weed and which was the plant, now it’s even harder to tell. Is that parsley??  I’ll have to wait a bit longer to find out. I have enjoyed two types of lettuces and spinach from starts, and I think the seeds I planted will produce more leafy edible greens if the weeds don’t crowd them out. Part of me thinks if I weed,  will I destroy half the garden by picking out the wrong thing?

Maybe I wasn’t meant to be a gardener. Or maybe I should be more attentive and not take my garden for granted. Maybe when it isn’t raining I should get out there and weed the darn thing

In preparation for my move….yes, I am moving!! ( more on that in a
later post
) I have purchased the forbidden plastic bags, my favorite
moving trick of the century, my last black plastic bag purchase was
seven years ago.  I have purchased oodles of tape and will use oodles
of tape. I find I am absentmindedly leaving all my lights on, running
all my fans and occasionally I have eaten take out food for convenience
sake.

I could be making my own mayo, mustard, salad dressings, and yogurt…but as I look at the inside of the fridge I  think about using things up. Not making more. The less food stuff I have to move – the better

I am decidedly purchasing food for snacking, grazing, quick cook and grab and go. It’s not about being domestic queen right now. Yet the more I have on hand the less temptation there is to get something ” to go”

In all my effort to get rid of, purge eco mindedly,  I am finding my patience is absolutely nil, yesterday I put things to curb – plastic things, things that I know someone else might find of use and thankfully someone did pick them up.  I felt bad however because if someone didn’t find them useful and take them,  then my garbage would have just been something else added to the landfill.

I have resourced a friend who is hosting a Craig’s list sale for me. I could just kiss her for her help. She asked that I take pictures and I find myself completely overwhelmed. How did I accumulate so much?  There is so much to sell. I’ll be truthful — It would be a heck of a lot easier to just pile the porch for Amvets to pick it all up instead. Give me the strength to strive forward please – couldn’t it just be a tad easier to be green?

In the positive way to go green mama category, I am using packing boxes that I have had since 1985. I kid you not, I am packing in boxes that I have had for 24 years – I am also re-using packing newsprint.  I have been blessed that where ever I move I have the storage to hold onto these items. Since 1985 I have moved eight times and those really great dish pack and wardrobe boxes have been rather handy! 

Finally, this move has me putting on the car mileage. With money being incredibly tight and or flying out the window at the speed of light I have not yet planted trees to offset.  

Once I have settled in –I will calculate the mileage and do some offset planting.  I promise.

flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Green Moms Carnival Eco Confessions

  1. Ha! Moving will make an eco-sinner out of just about anyone. I love that you are using your old boxes though!

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    We do the best we can! Thanks for the kudo’s!

  3. Jason says:

    Its good to know that you are a nature lover and i appreciate your liking for gardening. You eat food which is grown in your garden that is simply great.

  4. I have to say, it’s a relief to hear a real life story of someone who doesn’t get the green life completely right like me! Sometimes I just have to choose my battles . ..

  5. I have to say, I think your eco-confessions are pretty mild!! You’re MOVING!! NO ONE makes their own mayo in midst a move. No one!! And at least you TRIED to plant stuff. Seriously, if that’s the worst sinning you can do, I don’t know what to say. ;)

  6. Hey Karen, when are you planning on moving to and where? I am very interested to see what peo0ple think about different places around the world! I want to find the best place to live and then get my friends and family to go there, one day!Good post, kudos to you and good luck moving!

  7. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I plan to move as soon as my financing goes through to Central Illinois. I am moving there for a host of reasons, one to reduce my cost of living and two because it’s a vibrant business community. Lastly, I could find a house that I really liked that I could afford.  I am drawn to the Washington State area for a place to live ” someday” It’s just beautiful there!!

  8. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Ruchi, you crack me up. I’d have to agree with you that noone makes homemade mayo when moving!!   I was so focused on the recent sins and moving that I really didn’t do justice to my eco-sins.  I promise you I have many!

  9. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I agree that our green battles or any battles really are that of choice.  I too like to know that I am not alone in being green yet, not always getting it “right”

  10. Karen, Karen, Karen. I just can’t even imagine what I’d do if I had to move right now. Probably toss everything out into the front yard and make a bonfire. Not really. But it sure feels that way when you you realize how much stuff accumulates. I feel like the biggest non-consumer in the world. So where the heck does all this CRAP come from?

  11. Karen Hanrahan says:

    It’s a very daunting task…this moving thing. As much as I pride myself on purging over the years. I am completely overwhelmed with the volume of paper ( even if I am as electronic in my work as I can be) and things. SO Many “things”  I get side tracked by the usefulness of something or the wastefulness of throwing or giving it away. I get caught up in the memory attached to things.  One such memory had me decide I am not ready to let of something. It’s ridiculous. I had a small little townhouse when I first divorced in 1996. Things kept coming in, nothing ever left and I filled a 55 ft truck. Blew me away.  One friend I know says that if something comes in her house then something has to leave.  I applied that principle to my kids things around the holidays.  The truth is we were making room for more stuff. I like the bonfire idea – wonder how toxic that would be??

  12. Jenn says:

    I can’t believe you still have your packing boxes from the 80s! That’s awesome!! And I agree with all of the other comments…you know how calories don’t count when you’re on vacation? Well, un-eco practices don’t count when you’re moving! Just don’t forget to pack up that McD’s burger!!

  13. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I think I am going to need an armored truck for that hamburger!! 

  14. Sommer says:

    Karen,It’s not like you move everyday and buy plastic – you’re okay. I agree with you on needed the armored truck for the hamburger! Wonder what that would sell for on Craigslist?

  15. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I actually had folks offer to buy it to “test: the validity of it’s age….burger dna testing of sorts!! I wonder what I’d get for it too!!??I moved 17 times in a seven year time period pre-kids. One long distance. In the last 12 yrs this will be my fifth. I feel almost expert about the whole thing. AND I just hate it.  However it’s very eye opening to see the volume of stuff one has. Thanks for the reassurance!

  16. Pure Mothers says:

    I think moving gives us a free pass. So great you kept all those old boxes! I just moved my mom on monday too and we re-used old boxes and packing paper. But, we used oodles of tape too and had to make 3 trips with the truck b/c I underestimated how much stuff she had! So, we weren’t very fuel efficient.

  17. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I love it, my green friends are blessing my  eco-sins!! I think when I found out the cost of those wardrobe boxes, you know the ones where you just hang things in ( oh my gosh the novelty of them is amazing), I decided that these were valuable!!  I am thinking I’ll need 2 24 ft trucks. I fortunately have a rough idea about the weight of things from previous moves. I’d hate to have to make more trips – that would be 240 miles!

Leave a Reply

