Leaving Less Of A Foot Print


In the spirit of the Climate Change Talks in Copenhagen our dear Diane MacEachern of Big Green Purse called the green moms together to carnival on the topic of Climate Change.

I thought it would be appropriate to re-post  my very first entry to this carnival.

I am absolutely delighted to have been invited by Lynn Miller of Organic Mania to join a group of green mom bloggers and to explore a particular topic once a month in relationship to green. 

I have never participated in a blog carnival before, so bear with me as I venture into this project.  Some of these moms I am very excited to get to know better, support their green bloggy efforts and to share the sisterhood we all have as moms.

For those of you visiting Best of Mother Earth for the first time – Welcome!

This month’s topic is Global Warming.

My green thoughts follow:

Imagine yourself in the woods, surrounded by silence, sprinkled with light as it peeks through the trees.  The hush envelops you, and you are reminded of peace and harmony. Nature does that.  I have such an awe for the way nature speaks to us. It reminds us. It calms us. Nurtures us. Nature nurtures me.  I was taught to respect nature, to leave the campground as we found it as they say, or better. 

In the woods we find ways to use sticks, berries, and tree stumps.  Look around, make do with what you have. Improvise. Be resourceful. How inspirational nature is!

The fall after my first divorce had us switch to a new school.  That first morning on the playground I was desperate.  I had just landed a new job and I had noone to watch my kids after school.

Hi – my name is Karen – I’m new, can you watch my kid ?  I was desperate –  I so hated the way that felt.

Later in the year I took on my first project as a school mom and volunteer. The project was about creating something bigger than us, something that left a deep footprint. Something ever lasting. The image of that footprint really meant something to me. I wanted to be remembered for the good I brought to the world. My project 12 years later is still a function of  the grammar schools in that district.  Kindof cool.

Global warming and nature tell me something different. They inspire me to tread lightly. They warn me that it’s better to leave not a single thing behind. They shout at me and says leave the campground as we found it – or better.  No footprints.

An article in national geographic years ago took all the plastics found in a typical american home and put it all out on the front lawn. It was a two page spread of junk, or things at the time I didn’t even know were plastic or petroleum derived. I was shocked.

Ever since then I have had this silly image in my head. What if graveyards instead of marking our resting place with a headstone, stacked the remains of our household instead?  Can you imagine what that would even look like?  Here rests Jane Doe with enough plastic stuff to float someone around the world. Here’s Jane Doe with a paper stack as tall as the sears tower.  Here’s Jane Doe with more chemicals than a chemical factory. Here is Jane Doe with enough food in her fridge to feed a family of twelve and then some.  

The mere thought of this has had me reconsider not only my demise – death by plastic or global warming.  It’s also had me reconsider my consumption, my needs, my wants. The shift is slow and frustrating.  An entire society does things the way they always have.  Me? I am learning. I am deciding otherwise.

I personally want to be remembered for the footprint I don’t leave behind.  I want the peace and harmony of the woods to still be there for others to enjoy. I want my resting place to have a very small stack.

What about you ?


earthy footprints collage flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

