Carcinogenic

The post below is for this month’s Green Mom’s Carnival hosted by Tiffany of Nature Mom’s

The Topic is Cancer.

I don’t have a personal history with Cancer.  I know it’s in my family at the cousin or relative level but because my family is what it is, I have had no contact with those experiences.

We all have heard that cancer is within us all.  I think about that all the time. Do you?

I  haven’t lost a dear friend to cancer, or a child or a parent.  Yet I have watched, heard, cried and have kept many in my thoughts as they bravely survive

In my work I find once a client is in the machinery of the “c” word, the medical perspective that is – they have little room for alternative solutions.  They are scared out of their minds.  I respect this.  Cancer isn’t something one takes lightly.  Those who have a belief in the value of  high quality nutritional supplements do come to me and we work together to detox their body carefully from all the poisons of chemo and radiation.   We then start slowly rebuilding immunity by offering quality nutrition.

Years and years ago, as a young mom  I remember hearing the word carcinogenic.  I had never heard of that before. The definition of carcinogenic is any substance or agent that tends to produce a cancer.   In my everyday world there were carcinogenic ingredients in just about everything!!  I was shocked and horrified.  Still am.  This is when I began to personally step into a path of choice.  I tried very hard to choose alternative meats, eggs, dairy, cleaning products, personal care and more.

What bothers me the most is why we HAVE to choose.    WHY are products produced that have carcinogenic substances in them in the first place?    This just boggles my mind.

I wish that the billions of dollars raised to support research for a cure for cancer would instead be funelled to the cause.  In my mind the cause of cancer is what we eat, breathe, and put on our bodies.  It’s what we fill our homes with. What if we started over and manufactured clean products?  What if all carcinogenic substances were simply no longer allowed?

We all know that the plastic shopping bags are a  major contribution to pollution.  Stop making them.  Period.  Life still happened before the age of the plastic bag.  We could figure it out.   What if fast food, the single largest contributor to obesity today was outlawed?  A rather out there thought I know.  Is fast food convenient ? Is our life fast paced ?  What if we paused in our fast lives and packed a lunch.  What if high fructose corn syrup was banned?  Like gone.   As a matter of fact HFCS is at the root of such horrific illness if we stopped making it imagine the possibilities?

Are my ideas that off the wall?  Or could it be that simple?

I could go on and on and it would just be my very own personal rant and opinion.

I don’t really know if our world will really look any different in my life time.

I also don’t have all the answers either.

I do know that if you are searching,  just like I was  twenty years ago — it’s all about choices

Where to start?

One place to start is to stitch to less toxic cleaning products.

Check out this helpful  link for household toxic chemical facts and statistics

flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Green and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Carcinogenic

  1. Anna says:

    Amen to start at less toxic cleaning products and ban HFCS! Those are two great choices to begin with.

    PS like the “light” theme…

  2. I agree, amen to getting rid of fast food and HFCS.

  3. Pingback: Cancer – Can You Get it From Your Environment? » Green and Natural Parenting

  4. Amen!!! Sometimes I have to wonder what the FDA is protecting us from if it’s not all these things.

    • Karen Hanrahan says:

      Lisa – The FDA sortof reminds me a committee or a board that “looks good” Not sure really what they do!!

  5. Why ARE products made that contain carcinogenic substances in them? That’s the million dollar question. It gets my blood pressure up just thinking about it.

  6. Amber says:

    I agree – it IS mind-blowing that we produce all of these things that are carcinogenic. That we don’t require companies to prove that baby wash is safe for babies or food is safe for us to eat. I don’t know if it will change, but I hope that it does. I hope that our actions, and our words, are part of the solution.

  7. Pingback: Cancer – Can You Get it From Your Environment? » Nature Moms Blog

Leave a Reply

