Green Mom’s Carnival And Gardening

This entry is for this month’s green mom’s carnival hosted by Anna Hackman at Green Talk.  I admire Anna and her gardening and I absolutely love Anna’s  very very funny stories in relationship to her garden trials and errors.

Last year when Green Mom’s wrote together about gardening I wrote about my brown thumb.  Spring had it’s potential and usually I feel hopeful and optimistic despite my inability to really garden handicap, but the fact of the matter was I moved last year and left those garden attempts behind.   As it turns out last year was pretty horrible weather wise and that garden yield was very small.  If I had to actually eat from it.  Gosh, I would have starved!  What it did yield;  a single  zucchini, a few tomatoes, and some parsley – I gave to my former landlord.

Fast forward now a year later,  I find myself challenged.  Spring definitely inspires.  I now own a home and the potential of having my own garden is pretty darn cool.  I am wondering goodness where do I even begin?  I want all kinds of garden successes!  Thinking about what I’d like to do I can definitely see it’s a long term project.  My budget is nill, my hands are only so strong and I still feel I don’t know what I might successfully yield.  Thus  ahead of me is a nature experiment at best! Wish me luck!

I have met some folks who are very enthusiastic about gardening here that I hope to learn from.

In the meantime my new home and it’s  yard have kissed me with these wonderful springtime  surprises, making me feel especially grateful for those who have lived here before and gardened.

my very own forest pansy redbud

a solo tulip reddening

the lacey buds of a maple tree

the daffodils from a few weeks ago

me and my shadow photographing the potential

This entry was posted in Green and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Green Mom’s Carnival And Gardening

  1. Michelle Hohe says:

    I LOVE the picture of your shadow in your yard!!!!

  2. Karen, your home looks lovely! Like you, I was lucky enough to buy a home owned by wonderful gardeners, so we have amazing specimen plants all over the place. It is gorgeous, but I can’t take credit for any of it! :) Have fun this spring and thanks for your contribution to the carnival!

    • Thank you Lynn – always love having your comments here. I think there is going to be quite a bit that I won’t take credit for. Things keep popping up!! Something to be said for buying an 84 yr old home!!

  3. Angela says:

    Your shadow looks thin…I hope the body it belongs to matches! I hope you get a bike too!
    xoxo

  4. Karen, Enjoy your beautiful yard and garden. It always amazes me how relaxing the nature in my yard can be for me. It’s really a destresser!

  5. Amber says:

    Good luck!

    I have found that the best thing to do is pick one or two small projects and jump in. Gardening is really best learned as you go. I am sure that over the next few years you will pick up lots, and realize some of that potential.

  6. I had a terrible gardening year last year as well. Good luck with your new space!

Leave a Reply

