What’s The Number One Thing We Can Do To Protect Life On Planet Earth?

Fellow Green Mom’s Carnival Blogger Beth Terry posed this HUGE question to our group the other day.

She asked — What is the number one thing we can do to protect life on planet earth?

An interesting conversation thread followed.

If I had to decide just one thing to protect our planet earth — I’d say feed it.

By that I mean clean up the whole food thing.

To me that means no one is hungry ever and we get back to the basics – slow food, scratch cooking, dinner together every day, a deeper understanding of local and seasonal – food that is clean, nutritious and plentiful

Such a simplistic thought

Not a simple task by any means.

I certainly wouldn’t know where to start either

For me when I think about what I advocate most passionately I always come back to food and nutrition.

I could do better

I could learn more

I could teach more

This is where my number one thing we can do to protect life on the planet has a bit of a Part B

We all might want to step in and get involved.

Get grassroots again!

Learn, share, talk, meet others who might be on the same page

Tonight I attended a meeting where local farmers, foodies, restraunt owners, educators, government and economic development councils came together for a like minded cause.

To bring a Food Innovation Center to Central Illinois.

I had heard the frustrated farmer farm to school carrot story mentioned in the newspaper today once before.

When someone shared with me the details of tonight’s meeting I felt I had to attend.

I am completely fascinated by the project!!

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s The Number One Thing We Can Do To Protect Life On Planet Earth?

  1. Lourdes says:

    We have to keep in mind that we ARE part of the NATURE. Destroying it, as we have been doing, WE are destroying OURSELVES.

    Let us step in.

Leave a Reply

