Fried Green Tomatoes

This weekend I put the tomato beds to rest. Love the smell of the dirt and being outside. I can’t say I am a devoted gardener. I tend to get all inspired by the blossoming of spring, plant great seeds or seedlings and then get completely distracted or lazy. Limited space gave me 3 tomato plants this year and some basil, all of which provided a nice yield. My tomato plants were taller than me.

If I had to survive on my own planting I wonder if my attitude would be different.

I have an over abundance of green tomatoes this year and decided to try them fried. Odd that I have never had them prepared this way.  I have made a relish before and a pasta sauce with a twist using tomatillo’s and cilantro but never classically fried like in the infamous film with Jessica Tandy or from the book by Fannie Flagg

I went on line and found this recipe, which had I read further I might have considered a different method of preparation, the commentary following this recipe was rather amusing.

I am not particulary sold on them. They were just OK. My Kate hated them. Spit them out. Ewwwwwww.

This is what I did tonight:

Cut into 1/2 inch slices. Salt and pepper them and let sit. (Others said slice thin – her memories were of her mom making them thin and them standing next to the stove waiting for them to eat hot off the skillet – that the fried tomatoes never made it to the table )

In shallow bowls put milk, flour, beaten egg and bread crumbs and or milled corn(Others said lose the egg, crumbs, and/or milled corn)

Dip accordingly and in the above order

Fry in olive oil ( Many said forget the olive oil, use bacon fat, lard or butter – too funny)

I gave them 6 minutes per side and they were mighty golden.

Some suggested milk gravy from bacon fat or a dip – I agree they needed a little something more.

Not sure if it’s worth experimenting with or not.


flickr image credit

K a r e n     H a n r a h a n
Wellness Educator/Nutritional Consultant
Mentoring YOU to Health Success
708.482.0678
 
Websites:
Nutrition
Weight Loss

Member of BNI – West Suburban BNI: “Chapter Mentor”
Member of West Suburban Women Entrepreneurs
www.wswe.org
WSWE Board Member and Programming Chair 

60% of affiliate funds earned from this site are donated to cause —
currently to the
what if foundation and the american forests campaign

The other 40% are donated to Mother Earth’s feet…in the form of shoes, after all she is  human.
 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Not sure my comment made it earlier, so I am resubmitting it! Just to tell you my grandmother used to make the best ever jam with green (as in not ripe) tomatoes. I don’t know the recipe unfortunately!margueritehttp://lamarguerite.wordpress.com

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I have had a best ever jam made from green tomatoes too!  It’s delicious for sure!!  I tend to stay away from jams made with sugar as the fruit only spreads are just as good – especially those from Paris
    thanks for resubmitting – the first one didn’t land

Leave a Reply

