Nutritional Deficiences In Children

This is the last post for this months topic focus Children’s Health. Should your child experience any of the symptoms listed below consider that there may be an underlying nutrient defeciency contributing to the cause

This list was graciously supplied by Nutritionist Barbara Lagoni. Many of these concerns are also discussed in books written by devoted Pediatric Allergist Dr. Doris Rapp.

Quality nutritional supplementation impacts the well being of nutritionally challenged children without the use of drugs.

Symptoms of Nutritional Deficiencies In Children

Bedwetting

Persistent colds

Hyperactivity

Reoccurring nose bleeds

Mouth breathing

Poor school performance

Reoccurring ear infections

Headaches

Chronic winter coughs

Irritability

Dark circles under the eyes

Leg and muscle cramps

Allergies

Puffiness in the face

Constipation

Diarrhea

Fatigue

Wheezing

Spots on the tongue

Twitchiness

Stomach aches

Excessive sweating

Stuffy nose

Poor attention span

Picky eater

Other Posts of Interest:

Nutrition on the go for busy teens and college kids

Nutrients for optimal learning and behavior 

Nutrition and Autism 

What is it about school that makes my child sick? 

Prenatal Nutrition 

Awesome Infant Toddler Multi-Vitamin 

Picky Eaters – High Quality Chewable Vitamins

Childhood Obesity 

Top Ten Food Additives to Avoid 

Guest Author: Pat Wyman – Learning Expert 


adorable child sneeze flickr image credit 

K a r e n     H a n r a h a n
Wellness Educator/Nutritional Consultant
Mentoring YOU to Health Success
708.482.0678
 
Websites:
Nutrition
Weight Loss

Member of BNI – West Suburban BNI: “Chapter Mentor”
Member of West Suburban Women Entrepreneurs
www.wswe.org
WSWE Board Member and Programming Chair

 

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nutritional Deficiences In Children

  1. Lori says:

    Hi Karen,I think the above symptoms (except maybe bedwetting -haha) applies to adults too.Many of the babies & kids I have cared for have candida due to over prescribing of antiobiotics and mothers not breastfeeding. I’ve worked with babies who come home from the hospital with thrush – and doctors don’t feel it’s a problem.(?)Some of the challenged babies I’ve worked with – their moms have them only on breastmilk until at least 6 months – and none of these babies develope candida.Maybe you could do an blog on candida in children (unless I’ve missed one that you’ve already done).Lori

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Hi Lori – I think you’re right about the adults! I wrote about Candida last October but not specific to infant thrush, I think it’s a great idea and added it to my list. Although I breastfed my daughter and I feel I gave her thrush because of my candida. Later she had issues with her skin. 

  3. Lori says:

    Karen,My computer’s bee down – arrgghhhMy son got thrush from me – and I went to a holistic physician to get myself healthy. If a mom has candida, the baby will get it in the form of thrush, diaper rash or skin problems.Nystatin and a yeast/sugar free diet, plus supplements cured me.Lori

  4. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Garlic, Quality Friendly Bacteria and an altered diet – such as you described are all things we recommend. Sometimes that’s enough.  I personally used Caprilic Acid.  ( sp?) It’s beyond me how most of the medical profession is not taking the issue of Candida more seriously.  

  5. Lori says:

    Karen,I use probiotics everyday and yes, I did use the capriclic acid too.It took me a year to really get well.Only holistically oriented physicians understand Candida is a “whole” body problem and can be very devastating.Lori

  6. Karen Hanrahan says:

    THat’s awesome! I too had a lengthy recovery. I prefere the holistic view to wellness myself!

Leave a Reply

