Copper Compost Container

Copper Finish Compost Pail
I asked my kids for this elegant composting veggie and fruit scrap vessel for my birthday ( today!) and was gifted its elegance and wonderfulness.

Who knew that composting would please me ever so simply. Yet it does.

At first expression, it was a bit of a conundrum however as to what to do with the scraps, we’d use a bowl in the fridge.
 
This lovely receptacle notches the experience up a bit.

Would you agree?

Happy one year older to me!

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Copper Compost Container

  1. Wonderful. I’ve wondered about this myself. I found a kitchen counter compost but bucket but won’t it smell? Do you have to keep yours in the fridge?

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I forget who in our group has the lovely video about composting – she keeps hers under the kitchen sink. I didn’t have anything with a lid, and have little ant guests from time to time so that is why my bowl originally in the fridge. Hers had a charcoal filter in the lid. I personally don’t want to mess with that and have room in the fridge Now that I have a vessel with a lid maybe I won’t need to!!

  3. Wow – is that a beauty!! Happy Birthday to you!

  4. Lori says:

    Happy Birthday Karen. Glad you got what you wanted!!!This is too pretty to hold compost – Would look nice by a fireplace!!!!Lori

  5. Karen Johannessen says:

    Happy Happy Birthday to you, Karen!!!

  6. Oooh! Ahhhh! That is SO lovely! What a thoughtful bunch of kids. (I have a stainless steel bucket with charcoal filters in the lid. But keep it right up on the counter. It doesn’t smell but then again it fills up pretty quickly. I don’t bother keeping stuff in the fridge. I think the videos you refer to were of Ed Bruske/The Slow Cook – he has a great series on MonkeySee).

  7. Happy B-Day!!!What a lovely gift! I have a little composting bucket that sits on my counter…the charcoal filter keeps it from smelling. If I had one as nice as yours I’d probable use it as a centerpiece!

  8. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Isn’t it pretty? Thank you!!

  9. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Why thank you! I sortof enjoy trying to have ordinary things be beautiful. I agree anything copper by a fireplace….what fireplace??

  10. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Thank you – Karen J!

  11. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I will check those videos out – I still think someone in our group did it, shame on me for not bookmarking it.  My kids have learned along time ago how practical gift giving works with me.

  12. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Ha – a centerpiece!! The word of the day to describe my new pail ” lovely” From now on we will call it the lovely copper composting container!

  13. nadine sellers says:

    happy copper day–should rinse your hair with henna to match it.i empty my lowly plastic bucket ( did not buy it) every day in the assigned garden spot or pot. soon the worms are fat and busy. and then the chickens do more scratching chores, life goes on.so have a lovely copper composting of a day, all year, in full view, for your knowledgeable gaze.PS: boric acid or lemon skins under sink to discourage ants.

  14. Anna says:

    I have a white one with a filter on it and it sits on the counter. In the summer, I get those little fruit flies! I empty it alot in my main one outside (winter included.)Happy Birthday!!!

  15. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I remember henna, love the way that stuff smells! would it turn my silver to copper? The boric acid has done the trick time and time before, but this year they were pervasive and poof my counter would be covered. I was methodical with boric acid and sugar water and in time they’d be gone again lemon skins huh? good to knowI like how your chickens contribute to the cause

  16. Karen Hanrahan says:

    seemingly i am alone w/ the put it in the fridge idea…as most of you do the counter gig, I will try it on the counter and see… thanks for the birthday wishes

  17. judyg says:

    I like the looks of this pail – beautiful! Does it have a tight fitting lid?

  18. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Hi Judy – I am really pleased with the appearance of this pail. I would say it’s NOT a tight fitting lid, sort sets down nicely.  I fill it in a week and keep it on the floor. I haven’t had issues w/odors or anything.

Leave a Reply

