Roasted Garlic And Butternut Squash Puree

I have always wanted to make this soup.

Not sure why I haven’t before because it’s positively wonderful.

With Halloween in the air I guess I was in the mood for something orange!


pumpkin pile flickr sourced

Place oiled wedges of squash, flesh side down in a roasting pan.  I piled mine in the center of the dish and put the garlic cloves in the center of the squash, drizzling more oil over all.  Add a bit of water or stock to the bottom of the pan

I had one medium sized butternut squash and 6 cloves of garlic.

Bake for one hour

In the meantime sauté sweet onion or leek in oil, once softened add 2 T chopped fresh Italian leaf parsley. I grated about an inch of peeled ginger root ( not in the recipe, but I thought it might be complimentary ) in at the end. 

Add mixture to a blender with 1 cup of chicken of vegetable stock.

Remove roasting pan from the oven, cool and peel skin from the garlic and squash. Add to blender and puree

Pour into a stock pan, add 3 cups additional stock, heat to a simmer, add salt and fresh ground white pepper to taste.

Now this last step wasn’t in the recipe at all,  but I had about 1/4 of this herb goat cheese to use up so I added that in too. 

I suppose I could have had that on crackers. But this cheese was very annoying, way too crumbly and non-compliant.  

It was superb in the soup!

Most of this recipe was sourced from my all time favorite soup cookbook by william-sonoma


roasted squash soup flickr image

K a r e n     H a n r a h a n
Wellness Educator/Nutritional Consultant
Mentoring YOU to Health Success
708.482.0678
 
Websites:
Nutrition
Weight Loss 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

