Say NO To Toxic Baby Products

An “emergency” green mom’s carnival was called forth this week by Sommer at Green and Clean Mom, who alerted us to a video contest sponsored by Johnson and Johnson. The prize is a whopping $10,000.  The cost to the consumer?  Especially our little itty bitty ones?  Exposure to toxins.

As a teenager I was diagnosed with topical formaldehyde poisoning after using a sun screen that had been from the season before. The preservatives used in this sunscreen had “pickled” me!  I have had to avoid the sun ever since.

These toxic preservatives are in many baby personal care products.

An infants developing body systems are way more vulnerable than an adults. Chemicals that are found in most conventional baby-care products have only been tested as individual components, not in combination with each other, imagine a basic diaper change and all the variety of products used!  Our government does not require potential long term effects testing. Companies certainly don’t test for toxicities.

We as consumers have to be vigilant, we have to choose.

A few preservatives to look out for include:

sodium lauryl sulfate
DMDM hydantoin
cetereath
polyethylante glycol ( PEG)
propylene glycol (PG)
fragrance ( often a code for phthalates )

Baby shampoo, washes, liquid soaps, sunscreens,wipes, lotions and moisturizers, diaper creams, powders, laundry, foods are all potentially tainted

above sourced from green goes w/ everything by sloan barnett

I don’t claim to be an expert in this area.

For me as a consumer when I see lists like the above I make a decision. Do I want those chemicals on mine or my babies body?  I personally say no and start reading labels.  I look for the alternatives

Thank goodness that clean and safe product choices are out there!

Consider getting involved. Support the Kid-Safe Chemical Act, which is legislation presently before Congress to help make all household and personal cares products safe for use.  Tell people you know about your concerns. Switch brands

I really am sick and tired of needing a chemistry degree to decipher product labels. Aren’t you ??


flickr image toxic product label

How Do You Celebrate Earth Day?
What’s Stopping You From Cleaning Green?

karen hanrahan | wellness educator and consultant | writer
nutrition ~ green clean ~ inch loss ~ anti-aging

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Say NO To Toxic Baby Products

  1. Your photograph of the ‘dream bouquet’ bubble bath is a perfect example – what the heck is all that stuff and why would we want to soak in it????

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Isn’t it ?? I was delighted when I stumbled upon it!!

  3. JessTrev says:

    What a compelling story – a lifelong reminder for you that chemicals can have nasty side effects. Thanks for posting about your experience and for reminding us all of the need for better labeling.

  4. Karen Hanrahan says:

    You’re very welcome Jess.

  5. Anna says:

    I am so glad I have all you green moms to keep me on the safe and healthy pathway. What about everyone else? Who do they have?I so agree with you about why do we have to have a chemistry degree to feel safe. It’s just absurd!

  6. Remember – we don’t have to buy this products to begin with. Let’s all shift our spending to the safest products available (see http://www.ewg.org). J&J – and other companies — will get the message!

  7. Karen Hanrahan says:

    always the pioneer I often felt alone with my “different ” points of view – had I had the internet as a young mom it would have helped my confidence. I would not have felt so alone. I too am glad we have each other!

  8. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Thanks for the link Diane. I agree a shift in purchasing might have a company like J&J pause and rethink it’s practices.

  9. Thanks for participating and giving your two cents. I like how you mention the questionable ingredients you stay away from.

  10. Karen Hanrahan says:

    You’re very welcome sommer, thanks for alerting all of us to the J&J hoopla and for being the kindof mom I wish was my next door neighbor!!

  11. Karen, I love this photo you posted. I used to look at labels like that one and get a vague, uneasy feeling. Then I would think, “Oh, the government is protecting us.” Ha! On another blog I saw your comment that you were made aware of these issues 22 years ago! Wow…no wonder J&J is ignoring our questions and concerns…they figure we’ll just go away, and they’ve heard this all before…They don’t yet know what’s hit them this time.

  12. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Thank You Lynn – it’s true how we all assume we are being protected and cared for.  I was an alternative consumer way back when …yes! I remember the moment when I walked into a regular grocery store and thought to myself. I can’t shop here. At least for very much. It drove my friends and family crazy!

Leave a Reply

