Quiche With Brown Rice Crust

When I have a bunch of vegetables to use up I will typically throw them all in a glass baking dish, top them with eggs and cheese and call it a fritatta.  It’s a simple and elegant meal and makes awesome leftovers.

An additional reason I make a fritatta is I can’t make a quiche.

See —  I am VERY challenged in the pie crust making category.

Recently I hosted a gathering of poets and story writers at my home for a potluck dinner and circle reading .

One of the guests brought this phenomenol dish.

Quiche with a brown rice crust!  What a novel idea! I had never eaten something like that nor had I ever heard of it.  It was postively delicious!

This recipe is sourced from the Rodale Cookbook. Debra brought it as a dish to share. Thank you Debra

I can’t wait to experiment with this recipe.

Take 1 1/2 C Cooked Brown Rice and press moist into an oiled 9 inch pie plate.  Bake in a hot 375 degree oven to dry it out.  About 5 minutes. Cool.

Beat 3 eggs, or an egg white and whole egg mixture until light and fluffy. Combine 1/4 C Skim Milk Powder w/ 1 C water with wisk. Add egg mixture, 1/4 teas of salt, fresh ground pepper and a dash of nutmeg

Combine 1 1/4 C cheese thoroughly with 1 T of Potato or Rice Flour  ( I have to ask why you do that ) layer at the bottom of the rice crust.  Pour egg mixture over cheese. Add favorite vegetables.

Bake for 10 Minutes at 375.  Turn heat down to 325 and bake for an additional 30 minutes or until quiche is a golden brown. 


chinese egg pattern flickr image

karen hanrahan | wellness educator and consultant | writer
nutrition ~ green clean ~ inch loss  ~ anti-aging

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiche With Brown Rice Crust

  1. Sounds creatively yummy with the rice. Wish I could eat the cheese. Enjoy!

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Almond Cheese is an alternative!!

Leave a Reply

