May The Bunny Be With You

I saved this picture a long time ago, it pleased my very hippoty-hoppity heart.

I don’t have it in a big size format
( if you haven’t noticed by now most of the pics on this blog are BIG )

Nor do I have the credit to whoever took it – I apologize.

I saved it quickly and in a moment of oh my gosh this is adorable glee.

Someone who loves bunnies captured this image and I appreciate you – whoever you are.

The bunny for me represents spring, in the natural re-awakening mother earthy kindof way. Yes — things bud, and birds come out from nowhere and the sun shines ever so brightly, but bunnies leaping speaks ever so much more about the yipeee of spring.

Growing up under our back yard stoop we had a family of bunnies. In the winter I loved looking for the elongated foot tracks they’d leave in the snow and the comical pea like pellets of poop they’d leave behind. I have no idea why their poop cracks me up,  but it does.

Each Spring a new crop of baby bunnies would be born. The cuteness factor of which I could hardly stand.

When I  I moved to my teeny tiny townhouse in 1996 a rather large bunny lived nearby.  Whenever I returned home that  rabbit would be standing somewhere just waiting for me.

I took it as a welcome home gesture.

I wanted to be sure you returned home safe –  thank goodness you’re back kindof waiting.

I always said to myself, thanks for watching over me.

I have to say nine out of ten times upon returning to my townhouse that bunny was waiting for me.

I have had a bunny watching over me and my family at some level ever since. Each time one sits waiting for us I am sure to pause and think hey thanks we’re back and I am glad your making sure we are OK.

I know I am looney sometimes – yet I really do believe that nature watches out for all of us. Even in crisis, even with all the abuse we have bestowed on our planet – it still gives back.

We are so tremendously blessed.

My post for this weekend extends to you the very same giggle that this leaping bunny picture evokes for me.

May the bunny be with you.


lovely artisan paints with bunny theme – this one in a moon leap – flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May The Bunny Be With You

  1. Mary says:

    I brought home some wild bunnies that were left by their mommy. I was about 9 years old. We actually bottle fed them with my baby doll bottles. They thrived, my Grandpa built them a habitat and then we released them. I loved them dearly…they were named Sugar and Spice.Happy Easter

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I LOVE this story.

  3. My dad brought home a couple of white lab rabbits from University of MD when I was a kid, not realizing he had one male and one female. Pretty soon, we had a backyard full of white rabbits. They ate all of the grass, to my mom’s chagrin, but we loved them.Eventually, though, my mom had had enough. We gave away many of the bunnies. There were a couple that couldn’t be pets because they always fought with other rabbits. We ate them in stew. Well, I did. The others just kind of stared at their plates and felt sad. My sister thought I was a monster. I just thought it tasted like chicken.

  4. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Oh my goodness, what a story!  My daughter was in europe where they ate their “backyard” creatures as food. She too said it tasted like chicken!

Leave a Reply

