No More Ring Around The Bathtub

In the days of yore when I used chemical bathroom cleaners, typical soaps and shampoo’s from the grocery store, I constantly battled with ring around the bathtub, slimy tile walls and a discusting shower curtain.  While I felt it was a never ending battle, I also struggled with how ill I felt after I cleaned because of noxious fumes from typical cleaning products, and how itchy I always felt by using pertroleum derived skin care. I seriously itched a good portion of my life.

Being able to clean green of course altered the chemical portion of that completely.

I marvel that three non-toxic, biodegradable products changed that horrific experience so simply – A germicide, an all purpose cleaning product and a scouring paste

The most remarkable detail of using this powerful green trio is that I could spray, scour, sanitize and mix all of these things together, without fear of a chemical melt down.  We all know that combining bleach and ammonia and other regular cleaning products is very very dangerous.

Mixing bleach and ammonia releases a gas so deadly it was once used as a chemical warfare agent. It can overwhelm a victim in less than a minute.

Yikes!!

After I was introduced to green cleaning products I was then introduced to a non-soap bar, for everyday bathing.  A positively delicious oatmeal, vitamin e, wheat germ oil product that was such a shift from the squeaky clean Ivory soap I grew up with, or the Irish spring soap my husband seemed to enjoy ( gosh I hated the smell of that stuff) I could hardly believe the difference this product made in my life.  My new non-soap bar was lovely smelling, ph balanced, and non-stripping to the skin. It actually protects the skins acid mantle versus destroying it. I had horrific dry skin from using every day skin care products that were harsh, not ph balanced and derived from tallow ( animal fat ) and lye ( the same thing that oven cleaners are made up of ). I have introduced hundreds of people to this non-soap bar and they love it as much as I.

Soap products make soap scum – no other way to say it, soap leaves a horrific trail.

Use soap products you will have soap scum.

Use non-soap products – bar, body washmoisturizers, shampoo’s and conditioners derived from plants and guess what? No more soap scum. Not to mention no more dry skin.

No soap scum and you virtually have a self cleaning bathtub. I have not had a bathtub ring since 1993!

Come over anytime and look in my bathtub.

It’s beeee-aaa-uuu-tiful.

With regard to the discusting plastic liners for your shower? Forget those. I stopped using them ions ago. I buy an all fabric cotton shower curtain – actually I buy 2 and wash one with the towels!  No more plastic touching my body, not more outgassing and no more mold.


vintage claw tub and mirror flickr image credit

Karen Hanrahan ~ Wellness Educator/Nutritional Consultant/Blog Author 
Websites:
Nutrition Weight Loss, and Green Clean
 
How do you celebrate Earth Day?
If you’re not cleaning green – what’s stopping you?
 

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No More Ring Around The Bathtub

  1. goutman says:

    thanks you for nice articles, I always visit this blog cause many good information

  2. M Smith says:

    So were does one buy a positively delicious oatmeal, vitamin e, wheat germ oil product? We’re more than ready!
    Thanks,
    M Smith

Leave a Reply

