Moms Know Best

  

Moms have a gut instinct that rules the universe.

When we are new to motherhood, we have to learn to trust this gut feeling. 

This inner mama drive has us know when to hug, when to yell, when to scream and when to say exactly the right thing at the right time.

It’s pretty darn amazing.

Last year on Mothers Day, the phone rang and it was my son. He was riding his bike in the pouring rain and hit a pot hole. His bike was trashed, he – thank goodness was fine.  He said the incident had him roaring with laughter.

Phone calls like that make my mother earth heart palpitate.

So we go – my daughter and I, and we picked him up. He was soaked, his bike was mangled and he was still laughing about it.

He got pretty scraped up. He allowed me me to get the cotton balls out and the hydrogen peroxide that I always have had on hand,  these past 21 years – just in case.

I was flooded with memories, other moments in the bathroom – other scrapes attended to, other times when batman band-aids came to the rescue – major deja-vu. 

We had been here before.

I was filled with so much love I could hardly stand it. 

The logical part of me thought to myself son, what are you nuts riding in the rain thirteen miles, I could have picked you up!

The proud part of me thought how his determination and his affection for riding his bike is just way too cool.

The mom in me, the one that no kid really wants to hear from –  thought of about four other horrific scenarios of “things that could have happened” 

I quickly told myself – don’t go there. 

See — the part of me I am becoming and the current mom learning curve I am on simply thought – mother earth – let it go.

Be there for him now – be what he needs you to be now.

I have to trust this thought process, this deep inside gut instinct and remind myself of my mom knows best radar. 

the above piece was my entry for a local newspaper columnist position…that I landed!!


bikekill flickr image credit

Karen Hanrahan ~ Wellness Educator/Nutritional Consultant/Blog Author
708.482.0678 ~ Websites:
Nutrition Weight Loss, and Green Clean

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moms Know Best

  1. Condo Blues says:

    Congratulations on getting the newspaper gig!Sorry your son had a accident but at least he can laugh about it. That’s the important thing. If the frame of his bike isn’t bent you might be able to get the gear replaced at a bikeshop. And maybe make something cool with it afterwards?

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    What thoughtful suggestions – thank you!!

  3. Martha says:

    What ever happened to your doggie, Marbles? Lose her?

  4. Karen, We never know what Motherhood will bring, do we? Thanks for sharing your story – it helps keep the world in perspective.

  5. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Nice of you to ask. She’s staying with a great friend. I expect her to be home soon once I know my PT schedule and their advice

  6. Karen Hanrahan says:

    It’s true –motherhood is defijitely very unknown!!

Leave a Reply

