Welcome Scott And Dale

A young man named Scott and dog, drove in from St Louis this past Saturday and are relocating to my former apartment. 

Scott’s sweetheart, Dale is recovering from emergency back surgery and will follow as soon as she is able. 

My Harris apartment was a sanctuary for me these last three years. The apartment was on the second floor of a Victorian home. It was quirky, old, crooked and filled with incredible light and love. It was a space that hugged. I don’t know how else to describe the energy of the home. When I moved in I needed all the hugs I could get! 

Once the purchase of my home was a given my landlord asked if I’d mind showing the place. Since I loved it,  it was my pleasure to share my affection for the area and the apartment.

I had the opportunity to show the apartment to Scott and Dale — a delightfully sassy young couple. Something about these two just makes you fall in immediate like with  them. I spent 90 minutes sharing every nook and cranny of the apartment. It was ever so clear that they loved it and wanted it. From the ooohs and ahhhs at every turn, to the endless questions and especially when Dale absolutely squealled when she saw the inside of a closet painted purple!!  ( is it still purple?)  

When Scott showed me this painting (see below) on his iphone — I couldn’t stop thinking about it . I loved it! He captured them as a couple ever so beautifully. When they left we promised to keep in touch via facebook and twitter. Imagine finding new friends in this process. 

I found out  several days later through facebook that they were approved for the apartment.  I can’t begin to tell you how happy I was for them.

Since, Scott gave me permission to share his painting. 

Isn’t it wonderful!!?


Painting by Scott Husik

Wishing you both a very VERY happy home .  Dale — I totally have you in my thoughts during your recovery!

Warmly,

Karen

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome Scott And Dale

  1. Scott says:

    Thank you so much Karen! What a wonderfully kind story! We are so happy to have met you, and know we are going to be happy in our new home. Dale is recovering from surgery, and has an appointment with the surgeon on Monday. If all goes well she can come out as soon as Tuesday!! BTW, of course the closet is still purple, there is no way that will ever change! I’m so touched you liked the painting, it’s just a hobby, but it’s been too long since I’ve made one. I think it’s time to get crackin’ on that! We’ll talk more soon, I’m still waiting on an Internet connection (appointment Mon). I’m off for some breakfast at Blueberry Hill!!!

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    So good to hear from you Scott. I’m glad that you enjoyed this post.  Thank you especially for the update re: dale. Anything that gets the two of you together sooner is a good thing.  Feel free to include me in the unveiling of your next painting. That basement is a good place to do that eh?  Glad to hear that Blueberry Hill is a new found favorite for you.  I bet you’ll be glad to be internet connected at home also!!  

Leave a Reply

