Black Beans And Rice

I get a hankering for beans. 

Maybe that’s weird, but I love them!! 

I have been trying to replicate the black beans I ate in Costa Rica and have yet to find the taste I recall so affectionately.  However I recently tried this recipe and loved it.  

I completely neglected to bookmark the site where I found this recipe – I should be ashamed really.

Whoever you are ….thank you!!

I think from now on I have to soak 1/2 lb beans versus a full lb of beans. As a single person I had too many beans this week. I froze some for future bean hankerings but this week ended up being a tad tooooo beany!!

Soak beans overnight.  Drain. Cover with water, add two inches more water and boil for three hours.   Simple.   I simmered my beans with several links of  cajun chicken sausage.  I thought it might make the beans taste spicy and smoky,  but it didn’t.  The sausage cut up was superb in the rice.  I think a ham hock works best for adding flavor to beans

What makes this particular recipe is the rice. 

Simmer 3 T of chopped cilantro, 1 red pepper, an entire sweet onion, and 3 cloves of garlic in olive oil. Very aromatic.  Add 2 cups raw rice. I used Basmati and simmer gently. Be sure that the rice is well covered in oil. Add 2 cups chicken broth and one cups black broth from the cooked beans. This gives the rice a sortof dirty look!! I had never done that before. Bring to a boil, cover and then simmer. The time depends on the needs of your rice. Mine was a quick cook rice so in 15 minutes it was ready.

I added the chopped cajun sausage and leftover turkey ham chopped. 

Top the rice with beans and enjoy. Sprinkle with fresh cilantro if you have any left.

Later in the week , I mashed my beans and added cumin and coriander. I made a fresh pico de gallo and had quesadilla’s with grilled chicken

With the left overs of all of that I made beans and rice, topped with a poached egg and the leftover pico

All very yummy – Can you perhaps see why I might be a tad beaned out ??


my experience in CR was very similar, beautiful cloud forest flickr image

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Black Beans And Rice

  1. I love your culinary creativity. Does this mean you are a bean brain?? 🙂 Sheila

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Gosh — it could !!!

  3. Angie says:

    I will have to try your bean and rice recipe. We are always on the lookout for authentic tasting CR fare. A friend of ours brings us Lizano when he vacations there.

  4. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Please let me know how you enjoy it. 

  5. Katie says:

    This sounds like a good replica of our favorite “boxed” black beans and rice. I like the dirty part! :)Thank you for joining the first October Fest Carnival of Super Foods! Next week’s theme is broth/stock. Hope to see you back!Katie

  6. Katie says:

    I almost forgot – please link back to the carnival of beans! Thanks! 🙂

  7. Karen Hanrahan says:

    you’re welcome Katie …yeah the dirty part was something I had never heard of before …

Leave a Reply

