Conserving Energy. Mine

This post is for this months Green Moms Carnival.  The topic is conservation and our host is Micaela at Mindful Mama

I’ve had the opportunity to consider my time lately.  

Things around here look and feel completely different now that I’ve purchased a home and my daughter is off to college.

Time for me falls into a variety of categories:

work responsibilities
personal well being responsibilities
domestic responsiblities
time off ” responsibilites — like actually taking time off

I evaluated time many years ago in these categories and found by actually making decisions about when to do what , I’m way more efficient and balanced

With my move and my mom hat off, I find I am back to making decisions again that will help me make the most use of my time

When I started my business 16 years ago I had not given myself value. I spent alot of time spinning my wheels and unproductive. I never attached a worth to my time. I began to practice a ” fake it until you make it ” approach just to give myself an air of professionalism. When are my office hours? Do I consult while making dinner? Do I work every single night and weekends?  When is my actual time off?  Working from home I initially found many of the fine lines of domesticity and running a business a blur. When I took off my business hat and put on my mom hat , versus wearing both at the same tim,  I was a much better mom. A better business woman.

These days I feel at odds. I find myself distracted by the desire to unpack, get organized — taking care of all things home.  I find now that I am not responsibly feeding a child – meaning predictably cooking because she needed to eat. I might find myself eating at the kitchen counter from the pot I cooked in…with a spoon no less!!  Truth is I’d prefer that meal time have a bit more ceremony and some dignity. Where I was once making meals to feed a family. Now it’s meals for one. I am not as apt to spend the time preparing if it’s just for me.  I do think feeding me has as much value as a child – don’t you?  I just have to figure out how to do that!! 

My business hours and time spent working have become a bit of blur.  Days melding into one long string of phone calls, meetings, article writing is not respecting ones personal life.  Eventually I’ll burn out if I keep at that pace.  What are my new working hours?   

It’s time to recreate the choice approach again.

Time to be efficient and create activities that are income producing.

The beauty of working from home is that my work day can look anyway that I want it to.  I have been able to design business practices that work simply and predictably. I think that that working smart model conserves ones energies — namely MINE.

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Conserving Energy. Mine

  1. Taking good care of yourself, while making healthy decisions and dealing with change. Brava, my friend!

  2. Peter says:

    Conversing energy is quite important and i am sure by doing this it will help to conserve the energy resources.

  3. There is so much to learn from this Karen – thank you for opening up this important topic – conserving your OWN resources!! I especially like the idea of creating a bucket for personal wellness activities. It is so important but so many of us don’t do it.

  4. Shelley says:

    Even though you work on your own from home, it is even more important to have a schedule. You need to set your agenda for everyday if you want to make your home work efficient. You need to discipline yourself as though you had a “boss” watching. That’s how I’ve built a very successful business from home.

  5. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Thank you my dear friend Sheila

  6. Karen Hanrahan says:

    that is so true!!

  7. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Very True!! I have had success with that very discipline!

  8. Karen Hanrahan says:

    You are so very welcome MIceala — I think my personal life suffers the most from my choice to be self employed!  When someone works 9-5, they get off of work and often leave it behind. Friday has a very special feeling and meaning.  Me? I can have a friday night off or I can take all of friday off if I want!! Something pretty darn cool about the flexibilty.

  9. Alline says:

    Thanks Karen, for this needed nudge! I find myself wearing too many hats at the same time – and my head is getting tired! Maybe I’ll take them ALL off tonight – yay! 🙂

  10. Green Bean says:

    Indeed! with all those focus on conservation, we tend not to think of ourselves and to just drive ourselves into the ground. Great post.

  11. Karen Hanrahan says:

    You’re very welcome Alline. I think it would actually make a great visual to show the hats we as woman wear in one day, sometimes I feel like they are stacked to the ceiling!!  It could be rather comical.

  12. Karen Hanrahan says:

    During my divorce I learned this lesson very quickly – i had to take care of me first.  I was always a better single mom when I didn’t forget to take care of the caregiver!!

  13. I definitely let all my rolls blend together with little definition. I haven’t figured out how to separate out my activist self from accountant self from blogger from partner from daughter and you name it. I do need to set more limits, I think.

  14. Lisa says:

    I really need to learn how to conserve my time and energy! I think it is very hard sometimes to work from home because I know for me I try and do it all at once. I’m cooking dinner while writing an article, folding clothes while on the phone, etc… I need to find a way to have work time, domestic time, and free time. I think I need more hours in the day haha.

  15. Yes, Karen, keep taking care of and nurturing yourself! Ultimately the energy you put into yourself is shared with your clients, readers and the people in your life. We all need that good energy, so use it well!

  16. Karen Hanrahan says:

    keep thinking beth as the lines can become more defined – i use this tool called the week at a glance, i can design and redesign the perfect day or the perfect week and it helps me ” see ” the lines!! No two weeks are the same here but I still strive for some sense of order – just my personality!!

  17. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Lisa, that used to be me …and I got to the point where I wasn’t acting very proffesionally. The domesticity always won!!  I felt awful about it.  I am not the queen of being organized yet I like to think I have a handle on keeping it balanced — I think we all would love more time!!

  18. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Heather – Thank you, I do think time is precious!!  The energy comes back and refuels me. It’s a good thing!!

  19. karamjit says:

    It is very necessary to conserve our environment and to take good care of it. I am sure that many people will definitely come forward and give a hand in saving energy resources. The post is quite good and i am sure that many people will definitely be successful.

Leave a Reply

