The Things People Say

The things people say are really pretty darn amazing

I thought I would compile some of the emails that found me after I posted the picture of the 1996 McDonalds Hamburger.

excuse the length of this post …I wanted to put all of this in one place for history sake

Some comments were rather nasty — this one in particular just baffled me – who are these people??

how did you keep a burger or the bread from molding for 12 years? did  you cryovac it? do you know what that means, because spell check  doesn’t? don’t give me that preservative bullshit. i hate you and i  hope your mother dies. have you ever masturbated while choking yourself? i bet you have, you piece of hippie tofu shit! you know that  people care. i do care. that is why i am a people. fuck you. do you have any friends? i do………ronald mcdonald is pissed. he’s my  bestest friend in the god damn world. i hope you have herpes. i love you.

this one came to me in an email:

I don’t mean to be rude, but your hamburger article is quite, well, dumb.  I’m sure you’ve heard of drying food to preserve it.  Dryed food will stay well… for thousands of years.  I was looking around the internet at pictures of dried apples and other fruits.  To say a burger is “chemical food” or somehow poison is just ignorant. I suppose that you teach your students that marijuana will kill you, and sex is dirty and bad.  I just disagree with “educators” convieniently leaving out 1/2 or more of the story to push their agendas.  Why not teach kids the WHOLE story, and do something crazy like, I don’t know, LET THEM MAKE THEIR OWN DECISIONS. I believe it is far better to teach people HOW TO MAKE EDUCATED DECISIONS than it is to TELL THEM WHAT TO BELIEVE.

There were many many emails that were postivily wonderful …like this one:

i just got your blog entry with the photos of the mcdonalds hamburger forwarded to me today. i just wanted to say thanks for putting something out there that people can see and identify with. it both amused me and set my wheels to thinking, two signs that youre a great communicator.

thats really all i wanted to say.

thanks

John Stokes
Stay at home father of 3

or this…

Hello, I am in the process of preparing a persuasive speech for my undergraduate speech class, detailing my reasons why it is the individual’s responsibility to know the nutritional quality of the food they are consuming. As attention garnering material, I am mentioning your, now 13 year old McDonalds hamburger. As such, I don’t want to pronounce your name incorrectly. Is your last name pronounced “han-ruh-han”, “han-ray-han”, or are both of those wrong? Thank you very much. Have a wonderful day. Sincerely, Patrick Phillips

or this…

I’m a journalist for the 7th French news website called
lepost.fr and was interested in your 1996 McDonald’s hamburger. Insofar as this reminds me of the “bionic burger” story, which turned out to be a complete hoax, I had doubts regarding your story. Would you agree to tell us how you decided to keep a hamburger for so long? In what conditions have you been keeping it safe? Indeed, it sounds very amazing. Thank you very much for your answers – Julien

the sharing or re-posting was positively staggering:

Hello! I just wanted to let you know that I featured your excellent ’96 McDonalds hamburger piece in my new blog called “Fast Food Fever” about the fast food I eat for lunch everyday and fast food marketing practices. Please check it out and let me know what you think! Thanks! Best Regards, Drew Allen http://fastfoodfever.blogspot.com/

Hi Karen,

I read your fascinating blog post regarding the 1996 McDonald’s “Hamburger”. It spurred some lively discussion around the water cooler in my office, so to speak 😉 One question did come up, however, that was not covered in the post; was the “Hamburger” refrigerated inside the container, or kept at room temperature?

Thanks for your help in this matter.
Best Regards,
Bill Wray

Hi there,

Someone forwarded your hamburger post to the Comfood list, but when I went to see the original one so I could forward it to everyone I know, it was no longer there.  I hope that is just a computer malfunction and not some strong-arming from McDonald’s lawyers.  Anyhow, I googled it and found the cached version with the litany of comments.  I am astounded that some of your naysayers actually believe that putting a burger into a plastic Tupperware-like container is sufficient enough to preserve it for 12 years, without the aid of a generous amount of chemical preservatives.  I keep things in sealed plastic containers in my fridge and they go bad all the time, within weeks, or days, even. I don’t think I would assume that a canned good would be preserved after 12 years without a few chemicals to help it along.

Anyhow, I think your scary preserved hamburger as an educational tool is a great idea. I think if someone had shown me a perfectly preserved mcdonald’s hamburger that was 12 years old, and I didn’t already condemn mcdonald’s as the devil of the modern diet, it would scare me into eating better.

Thanks for doing what you do.

-Tracy

Dear Karen,

I was fascinated bij the comparison of the old and the ‘new’ McDonalds hamburger. We’re thinking about publishing a small article about this in our next issue. Could you send me the image of the two burgers in high resolution? Off course, we will mention you and your work.

Thank you so much!
(I’ll never eat a fastfood burger again!!)
Bie Van Laer
Lifestyle Coordinator Goedele Magazines
Sanoma Belgium

I just had to write you and tell you that you have the absolute best blog for an independent distributor that I’ve ever seen, with your McDonald’s burger article being a high point! I learned alot today from it for my own business. Bes
t of luck to you! Linda Wilk Independent Univera Associate 1317940
www.mynetimpact.com


We would like to use your image of an old McDonalds burger on Sky News in the UK. Is there any chance you would be able to supply us this.

Many Thanks –Noel Daniels

Hello,

I’m a journalist from a newsmagazine in Portugal, called Visão. I discovered your blog some days ago. As I’m doing an article on «How to Feed your Child Correctly» I thought that you could give some nice information about this issue. If you’re interested, send me an e-mail saying yes, and I’ll send you some questions. Ok?

Kind regardsLuísa Oliveira

Then there were the ridiculous and or the really sad emails that found me:

Dear Karen Hanrahan,
I am writing to express my concern with some of the misleading material you provide. I happen to be a manger at McDonald’s for the past 5 years and believe me I know a bunch of McDonald’s darkest secrets,Like that the hamburgers are really 100% beef even tho, they maybe parts that no one would normally eat, but they are still beef. That in the McChicken there are as much as 13% feathers and waste products in the sandwich itself, that the folded breakfast egg is not real but rather protein powder. But all the dark secrets left aside,I am not a big fan of McDonald’s food and don’t it even though I work there,
And you are misleading the crowd with your slander. As much as McDonald’s food might be crap, a hamburger does not look the same after 12 years. It might look the same after a week, it might even look the same after a week and a half, but seriously,I can show you pictures of a bun that are left outside the freezer for a period of 3 days, un-toasted and they get moldy – frankly enough, a toasted bun will last a week to the most.The meat will start growing musk and fur on it in two weeks time and that I guarantee you out of my own experience, and if you research the subject online you will find a person who conducted a similar experiment with McDonald’s sandwiches and they all got decayed, yes, I agree they decay slower than a usual homeburger but they still do. I will not even go into the misleading fries experiment – yes fries are real potatoes. But they are covered in a hydrogenized type of beef fat, given that, if you leave the fries for 24 hours, they will not be the same as most of the people in your field will argue, they might LOOK the same but they don’t, they become empty hard shells, you won’t be able to even bite a piece out of it even tho it looks the same – yes I agree it is crap, but it’s not shit just yet.

I don’t understand you nutritionists, and what are you trying to prove, everyone knows McDonald’s is crap – eating there once in a while when you are on the rush is okay, eating there everyday is stupid.
Hence you still mislead the gullible herd of the North American sheep, saying that if you eat mcdonald’s you will destroy your body.No…. if you eat McDonald’s every day 3 times daily you will destroy your body. But how many people who were going home from a long day at work, stuck at traffic, hungry from not eating all day long, getting a cheesburger and shoving it down their throats until they get home and eat a good meal, that got fat you know? I’ll tell you, none, and I bet you are one of them yourself, because if you deny the fact that you ever in your life ate McDonald’s I’ll call you a hypocrate, and if you tell me you get the hamburgers just to prove a point i’ll call you a liar too.

I didn’t mean to come on too hard but there are too many lies going around lately, And one of them was yours.YES I agree McDonal’ds is crap, but with all due respect, it DOES decay, it IS organic – while it still has chemicals and genetic modifications IT IS STILL ORGANIC. McDonald’s food will not make you fat if you eat it once in a while, it will make you fat over a long period of time if all your diet includes is McDonald’s. Frankly enough, as a nutritionist you should know, that all McDonald’s is good for, served with a cold drink is going right through just to satisy your hunger, so there is virtually no harm done,it’s just that there is no benefit. You don’t tell people that, you made McDonald’s the empire of evil, “oh Mcdonald’s made me fat” stories – bullcrap –  the person who decided to eat so much to the point of getting fat made himself this way. Yet you don’t hear of people gettng serious deseases from McDonald’s, it’s all a personal choice and you don’t mention it in your stories, easy for everyone to blame a corporation rather than themselves, that’s what’s wrong with you and society.

Funny enough, if you get to the point you read the whole mail without ignoring it, MY BRAND COMMITTMENT TO MCDONALD’S IS 0% – I DO NOT LIKE IT, NOT THE WORK, NOT THE FOOD.Just some food for thought, Thank you for listening,

Alexei Zaitsev,
Assistant Store Manager
McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada LTD.
Toronto, ON
CANADA


Maam

It said in your blog to contact for help, advice, etc.., so here I am 😀

Im a 6’7″ 600+ pound man who needs to lose weigh badly. Just 10 years ago I was only about 400 but I was able to out run and basiclly out last alot of the guys I know when it came to sports and stuff. Well in 2001 I watched my mom die, very badly. She had alot of health problems (which i gave up a careeer in pro wrestling because of). On the day she died, I picked her up off the chair helped her walk t the stretcher. When she finally got her legs up, she took 3 deep breaths and that was it. Then just 4 years later on the EXACT same day my dad (who I have never seen since the age of 8) died from 5 types of cancer (most from drinking/smoking). And now my sister who is only 6 years older then I am, has had 5 heart attacks and 2 strokes in the past 3 years.. and Im scared. I really dont eat too much (maybe 2 meals a day), I dont drink or smoke either. I dont take many walks (infact I rarely go outside) because Im pretty much afraid Im gonna drop over dead and people will just walk by and not care or Im worried about what they would say when they saw me. I dont go to church anymore cause Im ashamed of myself. My eating habits are a bit awkward. I dont eat too much red meats (I prefer chicken mostly). I love eating fresh fruits and veggies, salads, etc.., . I do drink soda (usually Sprite Zero), and I have a weakness for peanut butter cups. I want to eat those freash veggies and stuff al l the time but my wife and I just cant afford it. We live on a fixed income (SSI and food stamps), and we have to do shopping at places such as C-Town or Save-A-lot or Aldi’s. And the fresh stuff (like lettuce, etc., ) doesnt last long and we have to shop for a month at a time. So we have to rely on the pre-processed junk that is basiclly unhealthy.
As for my excersice, I prety much only go out when I need to (as I said before). I get tired walking from my apt to the mailbox and back, and Im sick of it. Is there any advice you can give me to help me with any of this? I just wanna get back to the way I kinda used to be, Active and happy with myself
Thanks & God bless
Butch

Dear Karen,
Amazing stuff!   My colleagues and I at the Feingold Association do similar work, but our focus is on getting rid of the worst of the synthetic additives in food.  We also share information about improving school food….which is much worst than most fast food, in my experience.
Please check out our site that explains why Mickey Dee’s burger is a much better choice than the one being served in the school cafeteria: www.School-Lunch.org.
Our main site is www.ADHDdiet.org.
Best to you,
Jane Hersey
author of Why Can’t My Child Behave?
and Healthier Food for Busy People

CONGRATS… I love this about you. Ya-Hoo. Rosanna —
http://www.parentdish.com/2008/09/26/mcdonalds-burgers-built-to-last/?icid=100214839x1210107796x1200638885

I also have a McDonald’s cheese burger  and fries that are about 6 1/2 years old,  and the same that are about 1 1/2 years old.  They haven’t changed much.  I keep them in  plastic strawberry boxes with holes in the plastic.  They have no smell, and most people think the newer one is the oldest!!!  Most people think I bought them within the past week!!!  it is quite interesting!!
I have one that will be 17 in December.  Still no mold, etc,  Just somewhat dry and dehydrated and worn around the edges from travel.

You made AOL Today !!
http://www.parentdish.com/2008/09/26/mcdonalds-burgers-built-to-last/?icid=100214839x1210107796x1200638885

Fellow bloggers, journalists, and food-lovers:

I thought you might like my story about Karen Hanrahan, a wellness educator and nutritional consultant who lives just outside of Chicago, Illinois.  I am in no way affiliated with Karen or her business, but I am very interested in her decision to save a McDonald’s hamburger that she purchased in 1996.  She now uses the hamburger, which hasn’t decomposed, as a prop in her Healthy Choices for Children workshop.

You can view my article here: http://tooshytostop.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/mystery-of-the-12-year-old-mcdonalds-meat/.

Feel free to repost the link or contact me for more information.  The photograph, which you can find on Karen’s blog (at bestwellnessconsultant.com), is property of Karen Hanrahan, so be sure to credit her if you use it.

If you have absolutely no interest in this information, I apologize in advance for adding to your inbox.

Thank you for your time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Laryssa Wirstiuk
Founder and Editor-in-Chief
Too Shy to Stop
http://www.tooshytostop.com

Check out these posts below – I absolutely love the titles!!

Mystery of the 12-Year-Old McDonald’s Meat
By tooshytostop
On her blog, “Best of Mother Earth,” Hanrahan posted photographs of the hamburger. In one close-up, the patty looks cracked and shriveled, dotted with crumbs from the dry, miraculously mold-free bun. In another photograph, Hanrahan

Old McDonald’s
By Adam McDowell
Much has changed since Karen Hanrahan bought her celebrated burger at a Chicago-area McDonald’s in 1996. Consumer awareness of environmental issues and organic foods have grown at the cost of fast food’s esteem. Meanwhile, the number of
Burger since 1996
By Ina
Karen Hanrahan says that this is a McDonald’s burger from 1996. 12 fricking years ago. Nothing was done to preserve it, it just… is. Like the McDonald’s fries featured in Super Size Me. I remember thinking to myself as I watched that,
Mickey D’s meat masterfully mummified: Burgers banish bacteria
By Bruce Watson
Consider this: Karen Hanrahan, an Illinois educator and nutritional consultant, has a twelve-year old McDonald’s hamburger that has yet to decay. After she purchased the burger in 1996, Ms. Hanrahan removed the meat from the bun and
Mystery of the 12-Year-Old McDonald’s Meat
In 1996, Karen Hanrahan, a wellness educator and nutritional consultant from Illinois, bought a plain McDonald’s hamburger but did not eat it. “I took the bun and the meat, arranged the pieces on a plate, and stored it in a cupboard,”
hamburger from 1996
By support@calorie-count.com(support@calorie-count.com)
read this…frightening:
bestwellnessconsultant.com/2008/09/23/1996-mcdonalds-hamburger-karenhanrahan-best-of-mother-earth.html (edited to say: sorry I don’t know how to make a link you will have to copy and paste)

Save on embalming: Eat more Micky D’s!
By Bruce Watson
Considering the high price and questionable returns on embalming, I was particularly interested in the case of Karen Hanrahan. An Illinois food educator, Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger in a cabinet for 12 years,

Mystery Meat
By Sandrine
Well, according to Karen Hanrahan so far her plain McDonald’s hamburger from 1996 (pictured below) has yet to produce any mold. burger.jpg. Hanrahan is a wellness and nutritional consultant from Illinois who advocates being healthy
1996 Mc Donalds Hamburger
1996 McDonalds Hamburger Posted by Karen Hanrahan at 9/23/2008 7:24 PM and is filed under Nutrition,Parenting,HeathE News Archive I teach a workshop titled Healthy Choices for Children. It’sa class for parents seeking solutions to how …
1996 Mc Donalds Hamburger
By MSGem684(MSGem684)
Posted by Karen Hanrahan at 9/23/2008 7:24 PM and is filed under Nutrition,Parenting,HeathE News Archive I teach a workshop titled Healthy Choices for Children. It’s a class for parents seeking solutions to how to improve the way they

McDonalds Hamburgers Do Not Appear to Decay
By marguerite valance(marguerite valance)
Karen Hanrahan, a Wellness educator and nutritional consultant, has a plain McDonald’s hamburger that she has kept preserved in Tupperware for 12 years. Purchased in 1996, the hamburger looks almost identical to one purchased this year.

Karen Hanrahan

Dear Karen,  this note finds you in fine health

and high spirits, I trust?

I ( we ) are syndicated journalist, we write FOODWISE

a weekly newspaper column on food, health & fitness.

It is syndicated out of Edinborough, Scotland.

Your claim to having a “twelve year old” hamburger sandwich

that is still in “mint” condition is amazing.

Having checked with the food science departments of a

number of prominent universities, you have – perhaps –

made a breakthrough in food science.

In fact the US government has an entire research facility

located in Natick Massachusetts that has been researching

food preservation – for military applications – for decades.

They have never been able to achieve the results you have.

Would you be willing to allow detailed lab testing of your

product to enable them to duplicate your results? Todays

science will be able to accurately date exactly the amount

of decay [ and the exact age] of the item.

You may become very famous.

Also, you may wish to be aware of the document

attached. We in the professional journalism business

need to be ready to defend our positions.

Sincerely,

J. Hugh

Things You Need To See – #8
By danu
She keeps it in a regular plastic container when it’s not on show. It reminds me of the footage from Supersize Me. You can see more pictures and read more about Hanrahan’s workshop at her blog – Best of Mother Earth.

Do you let your baby be an adventurous eater? Filed under: Babies
By Martin(Martin)
Karen Hanrahan is a wellness educator who teaches a workshop titled Healthy Choices for Children. Her class is for parents and is intended to teach them about healthy alternatives to the processed food products so widely available today

I’m running out of short quips to express my disgust
By Lindsay
On Best of Mother Earth, Karen Hanrahan posted about a McDonald’s burger. Plain burger, no condiments. What’s so strange about this, other than the potentially bland taste? She’s had the burger for 12 years and it looks exactly the same
12-Year Old McDonald’s Hamburger, Still Looking Good
By Xeno
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out and bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t
Old McDonald’s Burger…Mmm Mmmm Tasty!
By therealsimon
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out a bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t changed
12-Year Old McDonald’s Hamburger, Still Looking Good
By Signs of the Times(Signs of the Times)
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out and bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t
A 12-year old burger. I’d still eat it… JKJK!
By jacquie
Karen Hanrahan is a nutritional consultant and educator who teaches a workshop titled Healthy Choices for Children . Her workshop endeavors to teach parents ways in which to improve the way their children eat.
McDonald’s Unhappy Meal
By Kerri
Nutritionist Karen Hanrahan has a great prop for her Healthy Choices for Children workshop: a McDonald’s hamburger from 1996 that hasn’t changed much from the day it was made. People always ask me – what did you do to preserve it ?
McDonalds Horror Story
By luckyborisyeltsinisdead
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out and bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t
Micky D’s- Cloned Sandwhiches
By almostmaven@gmail.com (Beth)
You. Must. Read. This. Now! 1996 McDonalds Hamburger. Go Here:
National: Time in a Bun
By Polina
has been discovered — well, for a burger, anyway. Death eludes the indomitable McDonald’s ha
mburger. Consider the following evidence, via Serious Eats and courtesy of Karen Hanrahan’s website, bestwellnessconsultant.com:

hamburgled
By Christen(Christen)
The photo above resulted from an experiment by wellness educator & nutritional consultant Karen Hanrahan. She had heard of someone who saved a burger and a twinkie and that neither had ever molded. Karen says, “I thought no way – I HAD

McDonald’s Hamburgers Will Survive Nuclear War Along With Roaches
By admin
12 years ago, a nutrition teacher “Karen Hanrahan” stuck the burger on the left in a regular tupperware container and pulled it out this year. It looks exactly the same save a little less color. Seriously, what in the hell is in those
Short links for September 29th, 2008
By ronnie
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger – I stopped eating at McDonalds a while ago. Not because I don’t like the taste of their food, but because I don’t like their business ethics much. This 12 years old burger makes me feel


Is McDonalds Food a Technology?

By Evan Shamoon
As we choke down the McSuperSizedFoodstuffs, a woman named Karen Hanrahan, who teaches a workshop titled Healthy Choices for Children, has put together this little presentation, with a tidbit of advice for us all to heed.

links for 2008-09-28
By Funny Guy
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger.

Sponsor as Evangelist–McDonalds and Chicago’s Olympic Bid
By Patricia Martin(Patricia Martin)
(As some of you know, the 1996 burger photo from Culture Scout Karen Hanrahan caused quit a stir.) Chicago is on the short-list of cities vying for the 2016 Olympics. Enthusiasts over at Medalupdate.com are predicting it will be another
Monday: In Need of a Caffeine Hit
By Anastasia
Karen Hanrahan 12 year old burger is proof. She uses the ancient (in food terms) burger in teaching workshops. From the ‘I told you so’ folder is news of Australian PM Kevin Rudd’s (Labor) move to borrow to ‘build’.
Can you believe a 12 years old McHorror Hamburger looks as good as new
By Bruce Cat
Karen Hanrahan teaches a workshop titled “Healthy Choices for Children” has been using the same McDonald’s hamburger as a prop since 1996, that’s like 12 years ago and besides being a bit dryer, it looks the exact same.


Getting back to basics
By By KAREN BLOTNICKY Small Business
Nutritionist Karen Hanrahan purchased the burger 12 years ago, and then let it sit. Amazingly, it is still preserved. A picture on Hanrahan’s blog, bestwellnessconsultant.com, shows the vintage burger side by side with a new Big Mac,
<a title="blocked::http://thechronicleherald.ca/rss.php?section=BusinessThe href? Business? green;? color:>thechronicleherald.ca/rss.php?section=Business

1996 McDonalds Hamburger – Looks the Same Today
By Jay Brewer(Jay Brewer)
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger: “I teach a workshop titled?Healthy Choices for Children.? It’>…

Dispatches from the Blogosphere – Visual Migraines, Indonesian
By Urbain
CAPTION: Photograph taken by Karen Hanrahan. CAPTION: Photograph taken by Karen Hanrahan. I am not going to spoil the surprise by telling you which one of the above burgers is a dozen years old – you’ll need to visit the Hamburger Today
Immortal Burger
By Jasen(Jasen)
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out and bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t
Can you tell the difference?
By matt morgan
The burger was kept by nutrition teacher Karen Hanrahan. She says: ” People always ask me – What did you do to preserve it? Nothing. It preserved itself. Ladies, and children alike – this is a chemical food.
McTummy and McSweats
By Mary(Mary)
/2008/09/23/1996-mcdonalds-hamburger-karen-hanrahan-best-of-motherearth.aspx Morgan Spurlock: [while consuming a double quarter-pounder supersize meal] See, now’s the time of the meal when you start
This Week’s Tasty 10
By Adam Kuban
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out and bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t

Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger
A twelve tear old McDonalds Hamburger!!! 12 YEARS OLD Now you know why you and or your loved ones have a gut ache after eating at the golden you know whats or some other fast food joint…

By Traci Vogel
Boing Boing features a similarly horrifying classroom demonstration: Nutrition educator Karen Hanrahan shows her students a 12-year-old McDonald’s hamburger that looks exactly the same as a new hamburger. The thing hasn’t aged a day.


Getting Grilled over a 12 year old Burger

By InWo
menWeTrust

If you’re wondering what kind of power one little-ol’-post has, check out Karen Hanrahan’s burger post on her 1996 McDonald’s hamburger. She just clued a few of in on her experience thus far. Can’t wait to see where this one goes.
12 Year Old McDonalds Hamburger [Raw Food Humor]
By noreply@blogger.com (Heidi and JS)
Karen Hanrahan has been teaching classes on healthy eating and using one of these hamburgers as a visual aid in her classes. Granted, Karen is not talking about 100% raw living food diet, but she does talk about organics, food co-ops,
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger
By Jen
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger : Horrifying.
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger: WTFH?!?!?!

McDonald’s burgers built to last
By Sandy Maple
Karen Hanrahan is a wellness educator who teaches a workshop titled Healthy Choices for Children. Her class is for parents and is intended to teach them about healthy alternatives to the processed food products so widely available today
The burger has been kept by nutrition teacher Karen Hanrahan in order to rather effectively demonstrate the perils of technology when brought to fast food (see, there is a gadget angle in this story):

stuff and things
By Ragu Spaghettisauce(Ragu Spaghettisauce)
/2008/09/23/1996-mcdonalds-hamburger-karenhanrahan-best-of-mother-earth.html It bothers me that it is completely devoid of context. It is not placed next to a 12 year old variation – no Wendy’s burger,


Immortal McHorror burger is 12 years old, looks just like new
By Cory Doctorow
Karen Hanrahan has been using the same McDonald’s hamburger as a prop in her “Healthy Choices for Children” class since 1996 — 12 years! — and it’s hardly aged a day in all that time. McDonald’s should add “immortality” to its list of

Hey Karen:

Your 12 year old burger just made BoingBoing.net. Enjoy the crush of traffic!

xo
dave

What does a 12-year old McDonalds hamburger look like?
By tom smith
Well, one of these burgers dates from 1996, and one was bought this year. See if you can guess which is which. Burger2008. Originally posted on Best of Mother Earth (via Boing Boing)

Nothing like a good 12-yo hamburger
By jason@kottke.org
Karen Hanrahan shares her favorite prop that she shows parents in her Healthy Choices for Children workshop: a McDonald’s hamburger purchased in 1996 that still looks like it did the day it was made. People always ask me — what did you
<a title="blocked::http://aht.seriouseats.com/archives/2008/09/12-year-old-mcdonalds-hamburger-still-looking-good.html
” href=”http://aht.seriouseats.com/archives/2008/09/12-year-old-mcdonalds-hamburger-still-looking-good.html”&gt;12-Year Old McDonald’s Hamburger, Still Looking Good
By Robyn Lee
Wellness educator and nutrition consultant Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996 to illustrate its nonexistent ability to decay. Aside from drying out and bit and having “the oddest smell,” it apparently hasn’t
16 Tweets | Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger
Auto Description ] Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger Best of Mother Earth ~ Creating Healthier Lives Karen Hanrahan ~ Wellness Educator – Nutrition Consulta…
Environmentalist Bullshit
By eric
Read this article:
bestwellnessconsultant.com/2008/09/23/1996-mcdonalds-hamburger-karen-hanrahan-best-of-mother-earth.aspx. Now a comment from that page:. Ben wrote:. I have doubts of your method. I am not defending McDonald’s,
Rare Earth (Www.OSIR.org.in) News – Metals Place
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger
By adj@bordom.net (adj)
1
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger

Ladies, Gentleman, and children alike – this is a chemical food. There is absolutely no nutrition here. Not one ounce of food value. Or at least value for why we are eating in the first place. Read full by by Karen Hanrahan.

Top Ten Food Additives To Avoid
By Karen Hanrahan
This was my gig in the early 90’s. I began to read labels and I decided that I wanted to do better for myself and my family. I had a horrific diet, it showed up in my health and well being and I wanted to be around to see my
Reason to keep kosher #1084….
By matthue
Karen Hanrahan, a health and wellness consultant, bought this hamburger in 1996. (The paper is from this year; she bought it as a prop.) “Ladies, Gentleman, and children alike,” she writes on the site, “this is a chemical food.
Cheeseburger Chronicles
By rubi
Karen Hanrahan, also known as Mother Earth, is a wellness/nutritional consultant and writer. She has just posted pics of her 12 year old hamburger on her website.The burger on the left is 12 years old, the one on the right is fresh.
<a title="blocked::http://www.google.com/url?sa=X&q=http://www.getfitslowly.com/2008/09/25/a-12-year-old-burger/&ct=ga&cd=EACkhFmNtUo&usg=AFQjCNH5vAuZCCFk11X-VePclST-Suvavg&quot; href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=X&q=http://www.getfitslow
ly.com/2008/09/25/a-12-year-old-burger/&ct=ga&cd=EACkhFmNtUo&usg=AFQjCNH5vAuZCCFk11X-VePclST-Suvavg”>A 12-Year-Old Burger
By J.D.
Karen at Best of Mother Earth has posted about a 12-year-old McDonald’s hamburger that she keeps as a prop. Why does she keep it? Because it still looks brand new:. Karen writes:. This is a hamburger from McDonalds that I purchased in
McDonald’s Hamburger from 1996
By Ken(Ken)
But Karen Hanrahan has kept a McDonald’s hamburger since 1996. Yup, she’s had this burger for 12 years! And it still looks ready to eat. That’s frightening! McDonald’s (and presumably other fast food joints) use a lot of preservatives
McDonald’s Hamburger Made from Highlander Meat
By ThePete
This picture comes to us from a post (here:
bestwellnessconsultant.com/…earth.aspx ) at BestWellnessConsultant.com written by Karen Hanrahan. She notes that this is her favorite prop to use when she teaches her workshop on
Like food? So do I.
By Pathogen
Not if you believe Karen Hanrahan over at Best of Mother Earth. This blog entry is enough to make your stomach cramp just at the thought of ingesting this “food”. 1996 McDonalds Hamburger. This is a hamburger from McDonalds that I
McDonald’s Burger from 1996
By Ron
This is f’n awesome.
bestwellnessconsultant.com/2008/09/23/1996-mcdonalds-hamburger-karenhanrahan-best-of-mother-earth.html. Thanks Eric. I’m tempted to try it myself, but I don’t want to wait years for results.
Bookmarks for September 23rd through September 24th
By admin
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger – Totally scary post about a 12yo burger from McD’s;
links for 2008-09-24
By del.icio.us
Best of Mother Earth: 1996 McDonalds Hamburger. Karen keeps a burger from 1996 to show people what McDonalds is trying to feed you.

This entry was posted in Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Things People Say

  1. “Kids and Adults say the darndest things!”Sheila

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Oh so true !!!

  3. woody says:

    lets eat

  4. Lefty Farkleberry says:

    Burger Blues

    Apparently, I can get a burger now
    At my local Mickey “D’s”,
    “Freshly” fried to order,
    Hold the lettuce, onions, pickles please.

    Then, take that savory Happy-slab
    Of ground-up cow on home,
    Park it for score of years,
    Until it resembles greasy Styrofoam.

    Wonder if an archeologist will find it,
    A fossilized Quarter Pound?
    And if Ronald, then, will want it back,
    To sell it one more round?

    Lefty Farkleberry

Leave a Reply

