Chicken Tortilla Soup

Chicken Tortilla Soup.

Almost all of my soup recipes are from the  William Sonoma series of cookbooks.

This one of course being titled SOUP.

I recently shared this recipe only to find parts of the recipe missing —ooops!!

Here it is again with all of it’s parts.

Saute in a stock pot;  1 large sweet onion, 2 cloves garlic, and 3 T chopped cilantro until onion is wilted. Toss into a blender with a large can of crushed Tomato’s and one raw serrano pepper. If you like hot include the seeds. Otherwise remove them ( be careful and wash your hands afterwards!)

Return to stock pot and add 1/2 – 1 teas cumin. Simmer until the color deepens – about 10 minutes.  Add 4 cups chicken stock. Add chicken strips – 2 large breasts is enough for 3 people. I have also pre-grilled chicken tenderloins and added those.  Nice additional depth of flavor.  I also add green beans – not called for in this recipe, but I like the veggie addition. Simmer for 30 minutes

What I think makes this soup the most fun is it’s toppings. I provided chopped cilantro, lime, guacamole,salsa, sour cream and corn tortilla chips. All of which tossed on top complete the meal.

The recipe calls for cheese – which at times I have completely forgot and truthfully didn’t miss.

Often I eat up this soup, the chicken and the green beans etc and have leftover spicy tomato soup broth which I freeze and save to reheat for a grill cheese moment.


flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

