Hanky Panky

Remember hankies??

You didn’t think this post was going to be something well… flirty,  did you ??

Sorry — this is post is about a green alternative to kleenex!

I adore the florals, the bright colors and the feeling of the worn vintage cotton hankies

I think they are just beautiful.

The picture below are just a few from my vintage collection.  See the one in top corner right? I have had that one since I was 6. Grandmother Hanrahan gave it to me. It stayed in my nightstand forever.

I started using hankies several years ago.

Maybe because a lot of crying was going on.

Maybe because I had this collection and I thought I should really use them.

Maybe because it occured to me that kleenex use of all things, could be reduced simply by using a hankie instead.

kleenex has a “let it out” blog?  Clever.)

I have occasion where my eyes tear. Wind, bright sun or extreme cold will do that to me.  Today tears were streaming down my cheeks as I walked the dog.  I’ve always been like that.  A hankie is always in my purse. Another in the car.  Of course they are in the house or in all my pockets. When I use them and it’s only a tear or two I figure it’s probably OK to use again. If I use them and wipe my nose they hit the laundry and I grab a clean one.

If I have a serious cold I go back to kleenex merely cuz of the germy factor

Sometimes my palms get clammy.  Does that ever happen to you? I used a hankie on my wedding day for that reason. I know one probably shouldn’t blog tell everyone and say that that you get clammy hands but my message here is really about the pretty hankies that help me resolve that little occasional personal concern.

Have you ever thought how much kleenex you use?

What great alternatives and green solutions hankies are!  If you ever leave one in your pocket it will never ever make a mess in your laundry. I promise.

Maybe I am an old lady reincarnated!

Or maybe I am just too darn practical.

Not into vintage hankies ? Consider this local and handmade soft flannel source from MilkweedMercantile


scanned affectionately 2007

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hanky Panky

  1. Jessica says:

    What a great way to limit the amount of paper products we use. I forgot how useful hankies could be because I really only ever saw my grandparents use them. Being a child of the 80’s my parents were all about convenience. Now that I’m trying to green up my family maybe it’s time to embrace my inner old lady :).

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I absolutely love it – enbrace the inner old lady …

Leave a Reply

