Greener Holiday Traditions

This post is for this month’s green mom’s carnival hosted by our very own and wonderful Michelle at Green Phone Booth. The theme is greener traditions.

As I have learned new things I have always felt compelled to share them.  As years have gone by the many folks who have come to know me understand that there is always something I am advocating.

It might be a new restaraunt, a favorite film, a great blog, or an author I’ve befriended.

When I shifted my cleaning to something safer for my family and safer for the planet I could not get over how important this was to me.

I also found it was something I wanted to tell everybody about!! AND I did!!

There are still folks that haven’t shifted to cleaning greener.  For some they feel the products are expensive, are not very high performing or that green cleaning products don’t have the smell that to them is a definition of what is clean. Others simply don’t care.

I shifted long before it was cool to go green and I believed the tradition of doing something different and proactive was something I needed and wanted to do.

Ask yourself this… could the way you do things now – today, shift the future of this planet?  I believe it’s worth trying.  I believe a proactive approach is better than sitting back and doing nothing.

If you feel like I do perhaps you can go the extra step and share.  Start some new traditions and consider gifting those you know a beginning to green cleaning.

For fun here is a poem that came my way that I feel says it all…

‘Twas the month before Christmas and all through the land
You’re racing through stores with gift lists in hand,
Wondering what in the world to get this year
For those extra special people you hold so dear.

For those who have “everything”, what do you get?
More clothes? Jewelry? A Gift Certificate?
If you’re looking for something that’s highly unique,
We may just have the perfect gift that you seek!

Can you think of someone who would like to breathe easy
And get rid of the stuff that’s been making them sneezy?
With Green Cleaning products you will get
Cleaners safe for you, your home and your planet.

As you know, our quest is to provide
The safest environment you can have inside…
This year it’s really cool to go green
And our products are truly the greenest on the scene.

They’re safe and non-toxic and good for the earth,
And save so much money they’re really worth
Switching brands and taking a new way,
To protect adults and children where they live, work and play.

So if this year’s shopping is making you stressed,
Go with a gift that’s NOT like the rest.
You can give them a whole house of safe cleaners to use,
And help them to pay their environmental dues.

Along with this poem comes a special treat,
A gifting offer that can’t be beat.
By giving your loved ones a gift that keeps on giving
it improves the quality of the life that they’re living!

A fellow sales leader Moyra shared the above poem with me.  She thought it was too darn cute – she said Larry Jolly wrote it
( don’t ya love that last name? )

I have to agree that I thought it was darn cute too – I made a few edits for the sake of this blog post, gosh Moyra thank you for sharing this with me,  and Larry – who ever you are – you are very VERY clever.

If this poem speaks to your gifting and green sensibilities, not only as something darn pratical but also timely and unigue, perhaps these green cleaning holiday gifting options will appeal to you!


flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Green and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Greener Holiday Traditions

  1. Green Bean says:

    Great idea. I never in a million years would have thought of green cleaning supplies. 🙂

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Definitely, not main stream!!

  3. Beth Terry says:

    I don’t know. I think you have to be careful giving cleaning supplies for Christmas. People might think you are trying to tell them something other than what you intend. :-)I LOVE your photos, Karen. What kind of camera do you use?

  4. Karen, I love the poem! I’ll definitely be cleaning my house with my traditional baking soda and vinegar this holiday season.

  5. Lisa says:

    I gave green cleaning supplies for a house warming gift for my friend that got her first apartment. She doesn’t do the green thing but she liked a lot of it so she still buys it. 🙂

  6. Karen Hanrahan says:

    SO true Beth!!! Thanks re: the photo’s – I use a canon digital elph – recommended to me by a photographer friend – it’s the SD850 IS – I tend to shoot tight, macro, manual and in natural light and seemingly I get lucky.

  7. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Thank you Diane!!  I use vinegar and baking soda still too!!

  8. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I have quite a few realtors that gift green cleaning as a closing gift for someone’s new home!! It’s a nice time to make the shift! Great of you to do that for your friend

Leave a Reply

