My Cat Cleo

My precious black cat Cleo, queen of mink-mink and purr monster had a stroke yesterday.

She would have been 15 this July.

She was diagnosed under the umbrella of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM), or common and often familial heart disease found in cats. Typically this issue occurs with the common house cat. There is no viral or nutritional cause for this concern. The left ventricular muscle wall thickening that occurs is not normal

Cleo suffered from feline aortic thromboembolism ( FATE) a blood clot in the aorta that causes blockage of blood flow to back legs
( most commonly ) leading to sudden paralysis.

There is no cure for HCM. The changes occurring to the heart muscle are irreversible.

I gathered a pictoral slideshow here, oh my goodness making this made me cry.

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Cat Cleo

  1. Karen J says:

    Oh, Honey! I’m so sorry to hear this!Four-foots have just a big a piece of our hearts as Two-foots do ~ take care of yourself, whatever that means for you!Hugs and Bright Blessings ~Karen J

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    Oh Karen J, you are so sweet, thank you and for the call too. I am playing music, cleaning and sobbing today. Feels good.  It’s OK to be sad

  3. Helena Lemon says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. When I lost my dog this past September, all was lost for me. Then I replaced her with another pet and she is not the same, but different in a lot of fun ways. She wasn’t in a good situation where she came from, so I feel good about the decision to replace Daisy with Evee. Think about it. Give yourself some time to mourn though

  4. Black cat is my favorite cat i love black cat

  5. So sorry! Those tiny little fur balls really do get to your heart.

  6. I am so sorry for your loss. Having recently lost one of our cats, I really understand how you are feeling right now. She was beautiful!

  7. Karen Hanrahan says:

    thank you so much – I let go of a dog this year as well, she was a siberian husky and my home just didn’t have enough room for her to run – i miss her too!!  After many many years as a pet owner I feel that perhaps I need to not have one right now – I’m glad your new dog has been good for you and I am so sorry you lost your dog in september

  8. Karen Hanrahan says:

    me too ….

  9. Karen Hanrahan says:

    understatement !! Thanks for the comment

  10. Karen Hanrahan says:

    I so appreciate you commenting and your understanding. Right now I keep hearing her little mink mink sounds. Oh my goodness it’s so sad. Sorry to hear you lost your pet too

  11. I’m so sorry about your loss. Whenever I lose a pet I am shocked at how deeply I feel it. This has not been a good pet year for me either. Two weeks ago, my adopted dog, Marley, died of cancer. I was really sad and I miss him although I still have 2 other dogs. The super hard loss was Zoe, the cat. She was 17 and died a gentle easy death. She was the last pet we had that our sweet daughter, Amity, knew. Amity passed away 13 years ago at the age of 17 years. She picked out Zoe as a kitten. I am crying a little as I write this. Sometimes life sucks.

  12. Karen Hanrahan says:

    oh linda – don’t cry – i am so sorry about your Marley – and your Zoe — it’s true we feel their presence very deeply.  I can’t believe the emptiness in the home. There is the physical part, the sounds, the antics, the warmth and the purrring. and then there is the non-physical presence they have  — the energy that filled the entire house. Now  I”M crying too!!   My cleo along w/ her brother came to us the summer of my first divorce – my kids wanted kittens sooooo bad and their dad said no.  It was something I did that brought us together as a family after all that upheaval.  I can honestly say she was soooo good to us.

  13. I can understand your feeling…. black cats are always my favorite thanks…

  14. Karen Hanrahan says:

    appreciate your comment

Leave a Reply

