What I Learned From MY Children

Robert Hruzek at Middle Zone Musings has had the What I Learned From writing project going on for almost three years now. That’s pretty darn cool.

Recently he tweeted me and said he missed my participation.  Gosh – what a sweet thing to say.

The deadline is looming and I am trying to decide how to summarize my thoughts regarding this month’s topic:  What I Learned From Children.

MY children have taught me my strongest life lessons.

I am not the same person I was when I gave birth to my son.  By the time I had my daughter three years later, I had become yet something more.  My children are now young adults.  The way I can summarize this best is how profoundly I feel each time I see my son.  I think to myself wow – I like him.   I mean I like his company.  I love laughing with him.  I love talking to him. Listening to him.  I am always left with I LOVE who he is becoming. This reminds me over and over how evolving we all are.   My daughter is in her freshman year at college.  Our transition was a bit rocky.  Not awful, just not what I expected.  It was actually a huge year of transitions for my family.  I feel this remarkable becoming with her too.  She’s blossoming beautifully before my very eyes.  I am completely enamored by it.

I have met many people in my life who are stuck, who are un-evolving.  ( is that a word? )

I remember deciding to become a mom.  I remember thinking to myself  I want to learn.  I remember thinking to myself they will teach me.  I wanted to become with them, be an example to them, be part of their growing – foster their confidence.  I wanted to fill their lives with adoration.

What my children have taught me most is that it’s remarkably rewarding to give and to love.

flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Learned From MY Children

  1. Pingback: Middle Zone Musings » All Entries: What I Learned From Children

  2. Thanks for your participation in this month’s WILf, Karen! I think you captured the nub of the gist pretty well, too: when you get right down to it, life is all about love.

    A big ol’ tip o’ the hat to ya!

  3. huskylover says:

    I enjoy browsing your page, I usually find out random interesting stuff.
    Emily RandallHusky Training

Leave a Reply

