Tis The Diet After New Years When All Through The House


As amusing as I feel this little poem is, it occurs to me that if most folks work towards the new start they can have after an eating binge holiday season that perhaps they are missing the point. This includes myself. Past years I too ate, drank and indulged my way through weeks of parties, events, cookie exchanges and felt after the new year ready to explode!  This holiday season for what it’s worth; I didn’t bake ( gasp!!) I attended few gathering; thus less temptation and continued with my chosen healthy eating lifestyle. OK I wasn’t absolutely perfect, but I think the not baking was monumental!!  The point is, as always, is choices.  Can one get through a holiday season and not over do?


Twas the day after New Years, and all through the house
Nothing would fit me, not even a blouse

The cookies I’d nibble, the eggnog I’d taste
At all those holiday parties had gone to my waist.

When I got on the scales, there arose such a number!
When I walked to the store (less a walk than a lumber)

I’d remember the marvelous meals I’d prepared –
The gravies and sauces and beef nicely rared.

The wine and the rum balls, the bread and the cheese,
And the way I had never said, No thank you, please.

As I dressed myself in my husband’s old shirt
And prepared once again to do battle with dirt,
I said to myself, as I only can
You can’t spend the winter disguised as a man!

Away with the last of the sour cream dip!
Get rid of the fruit cake, every cracker and chip!
Every last bit of food that I like must be banished
Until all the additional ounces have vanished.

I won’t have a cookie ? not even a lick!
I’ll want only to chew on an organic celery stick!
I won’t have hot biscuits, or corn bread, or pie.
I’ll munch on a carrot and quietly cry.

I’m hungry, I’m lonesome, and life is a bore

But isn’t that what January is for?

Unable to giggle, no longer a riot,
Happy New Year to all and to all a good diet!

Lanee passed this on from someone named miles davies – actual author unknown. thanks sweetie


scale flickr image

Know anyone who might benefit from a nutritional consultation?? My business is based entirely on word of mouth referrals, please don’t keep me a secret!! Share this information with those you know

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tis The Diet After New Years When All Through The House

  1. Pam Peterson says:

    So inspired, I am off to exercise and clean out my fridge. Thanks for starting my day with a smile!

Leave a Reply

