Hey I’m Your Only Liver. Take Care Of Me!

I am your liver.

You only get one of me.

Do you know how I benefit you?

OR

HOW to take care of me?

I store the iron reserves you need as well as lots of vitamins and minerals – without me you wouldn’t have the strength to carry on

I make bile to help you digest your food – without me you’d waste away to nothing

I detoxify poisonous chemicals you give me, alcohol, beer, wine and drugs; those prescribed, over the counter or illegal – without me your bad habits would kill you

I store energy like a battery by stock piling carbs, glucose and fat until you need it – without me your sugar levels would fall dramatically and you’d go into a coma

I made the blood in your system before you were born – without me you wouldn’t be here

I manufacture new proteins that your body needs to stay healthy and grow – without me you wouldn’t grow properly

I remove poisons from the air you breath,the exhaust smoke, pollution indoors and out – without me you’d be poisoned

I make clotting factors that stop the bleeding when you accidentally prick yourself – without me you’d bleed to death

I help defend you against germs that constantly enter your body – without me you’d be a sitting duck for every infection known to man.

Do me a favor and take care of me will you ?

I can’t tell you that I am in trouble until it’s too late

I scar easily – those scars are called “cirrhosis”.

Those scars come from the drugs and chemicals you take that actually harm me

Don’t drown me in alcohol.

All that touches your skin absorbs into me – be mindful of the toxins you put on your body

Everything you breathe I breathe too – don’t use aerosols

Don’t eat fatty foods

Detoxify me every once in awhile OK?

I actually have the ability to regenerate!

Remember, I do these things JUST for you:

metabolize fat
manage cholesterol levels
control your weight
cleanse your blood
destroy toxic chemicals

remove unhealthy cells from the blood
improve your immunity

part of the above information is sourced from a health-bytes power point presentation – thank you lorri kreuscher for sharing


This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

