Baked Squash Soup

I made this recipe up, although it was modeled after a soup someone had made for me last year when I was sick.

I used garden butternut squash. ( thanks ruthie!)

Bake squash until it’s tender. Lay a few strips of bacon over the top while baking for flavor. Scoop flesh while warm ( easier ) I did this the day before when I already had the oven going.

Saute one red pepper, celery, carrot, onion and garlic, all chopped – simmer until tender, add squash flesh – it was about 2 cups, i had some pumpkin I threw in too.

Add freshly grated nutmeg, cayenne pepper, white pepper and salt.

2 Cups Veggie Or Chicken Stock.

Simmer for 30 minutes.

Toss into blender to smooth ( i put the bacon in too )

add water if its too thick.

Finally,  add 1/2 C shredded smoked gouda.

What a yummy soup!!

I’d say this serves 6.

image by karen hanrahan

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Baked Squash Soup | Best Of Mother Earth -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

