Baked Seasoned Tofu

I think tofu is about as “crunchy” as it gets.  My earlier exposure to tofu wasn’t particularly inspiring.  Tofu mayo and so – so brownies??  I’ll pass.  My favorite experiences with tofu has mostly been out.  Thai food – yum.   I recently started experimenting again with tofu in my stir-fry’s – and found I am getting better at it.

Tofu is a tremendous plant protein alternative.

This particular recipe caught my eye and I have to tell you  – it’s astounding.  The making of was a tad time consuming.   Not terrible in the scheme of things and I got two terrific meals out of the effort. Next time I make this I will double the recipe and see what happens when I freeze.

Wrap one block of  organic  ( non-GMO or pesticide treated ) tofu in a kitchen towel. Press with something heavy for 15 minutes.  Move towel to a dry part and press another 15.  The removal of moisture helps the tofu soak up more flavor.

Turn oven on to 450 degrees

While pressing tofu – in a larger skillet make marinade.

Combine 1 3/4 C water, 1/4 C shoyu – I use tamari, 1 T chopped ginger, 1 T chopped garlic, 2 stars of anise broken into petals ( oh yum!!) 1/4 red pepper flakes.

Cut tofu into one inch rectangles.  Arrange in marinade in a single layer and bring to a boil.  Simmer covered for 15 minutes.

Brush a baking dish with oil – they recommended sesame.  Place tofu carefully in dish removing bits of garlic or ginger ( they will burn) and top with a generous sprinkle of sesame seeds.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Flip pieces over, sprinkle with more seeds and bake for an additional 20 minutes.  Should be deliciously baked brown.

Tofu becomes firmer as it cools.

OK to keep in a container for a week.  I ate it all in two days!

*not familiar with star anise? it’s similar to licorice, found in quality bulk or chinese grocery stores

sourced from the new soy cookbook by Lorna Sass

Next time I make this I will photograph and pop an image in ….

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

