Garlic Scape Pesto

My sister and I caught up on the phone this past weekend and both of us were introduced to the Garlic Scape at our Farmers Markets.  It was like the news of the day!

What is a Garlic Scape?

Well, let me tell you!

Garlic grows underground, where initially the bulb its journey is soft and onion-like. As the bulb gets harder (and more like the garlic we know), a shoot pokes its way through the ground. Chlorophyll- green like a scallion (maybe even greener), the shoot is long and thin and pliable enough to curl into gorgeous tendrils.

This is the garlic scape!!

If left unattended, the scape will harden and transform from green to the familiar opaque white/beige color of garlic peel. Keeping the shoot attached will also curtail further growth of the bulb.

So, in an effort to allow the garlic to keep growing, the farmer treats all of us to this seasonal edible delectable that folks are seemingly just beginning to discover.

The scape is terrific fun; try dicing it into scrambled eggs, adding to a veggie saute or using as garnish for rice. However,  the best way to understand the beauty of garlic scape heaven is to pulverize a bunch into pesto.

the above what is a garlic scape which I so forgot to source can be found here  ( to the person who drew this to my attention I would love to thank you but you left me a bogus email address )

I made Garlic Scape Pesto last weekend and my goodness was it ever ever yummy.

My recipe sourced from here

( Jessie of the hungry mouse shares about stumbling upon a garlic farm out east that has “scape weekends”   Get it?  like, escape weekends! )

This yielded enough for one pasta meal.

A chicken grill off –  garlic pesto style.

and two baby food jars for the freezer!

WOW!

Here is the recipe:

1 C Garlic Scape – the darkest green parts.

1/3 C Walnuts

3/4 C Olive Oil

1/2 C Parmesan Cheese

Salt And Pepper.

Pulse scapes and walnuts together, add oil gradually in a pour, then the cheese etc

Variations:

I only had pecans around and 1/2 the amount of cheese. That said – my pesto was still really good.

This week I am making more for grilled veggies and to freeze. I am adding fresh basil, and using sunflower seeds. I bought more parmesan. I bet this is terrific also!

 

the images below are a tadd off because for some reason they had this funny red hue to them. All except the last one. I must have had a color filter selected.   I still like the black and whites actually.

What a local seasonal treat these are! I also just love them visually – curly garlic treasures!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garlic Scape Pesto

  1. I didn’t recognize your blog. It has changed so much. I still feel the love and the welcome that you seem to put into everything that you do.

    • Last year for a variety of complicated reasons we shifted from one platform to another. I am about to revise for better readability. In the meantime this space becomes more “me” each and every day. I am glad you have found me again. What a treasured comment Patricia that the love and welcome is felt here!! Thank you!! Please support and share my Jackie – she and you are up to some powerful stuff.

Leave a Reply

