No Thanks Huelskoetter Pork

Today I thought I’d try a pork vendor I’ve never purchased from at my local Farmers Market.

I bought bulk pork sausage from Huelslkoetter Pork from Beason, IL

I like to make a sausage, kale, white bean and sweet potato soup.

( I’ll get that recipe up soon – I promise!)

The booth’s signage said:  Steroid, animal-by-product, and growth hormone free. natural.

hmmmmm.

Got home to find food additives listed on the label that I seriously want nothing to do with.

Ingredients: Pork, salt, dextrose, sugar, MSG, BHA, Propyl Gallate.

I will be returning this product.

Read your labels folks.

Stuff like this infuriates me.

Ingredients like this are NOT necessary in our food.

Their booth/ product signage should also say this product contains nasty food additives.

Probably wouldn’t help their sales very much now would it?

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No Thanks Huelskoetter Pork

  1. Beth says:

    I just so happened to stumble upon this about Huelskoetter Pork as I was looking for their website. It is spelled Huelskoetter and it is the best pork I have ever had!! I suggest it to absolutely everyone I know!!! They do not promote their pork by saying there are “No preservation additives” to the meat due to the fact they must have additives to prevent the meat from going bad and rancid within days of getting it! They have been doing this for years and I trust them! I know they are not liars when they say it is natural! It is very natural! They don’t pump their pigs full of hormones and steroids as they grow and they don’t add by-products to the meat!! Plus, I do not bad mouth farmers. No farmers. No food. Not many people could work the hours they work, do the hard work they do, or live the lifestyle they must! Huelskoetter Pork is the best pork and most natural pork you’ll ever have!

    • Beth – thank you for your comment and for noticing the spelling error of Huelskoetter Pork, I’ve corrected that in my post.

      If you really feel that salt, dextrose, sugar, MSG, BHA, Propyl Gallate is OK in your ground pork and that additives like that are necessary for meat to taste good, far be it for me to persuade you otherwise. I on the other hand want nothing to do with extra’s or additives in my food. Especially additives that can cause me an allergic reaction or harm. I also think that anything with two forms of sugar added to it would taste great. Sugar in my opinion belongs in things like ice cream. or apple pie. Not my meat. Choice is important. You and I choose differently. I respect that.

  2. Brad says:

    You tree hugging idot…it’s liberals like you that have screwed this country up…take your clogs and move to California…maybe you can save a whale or two!!

  3. Charlie says:

    I love Huelslkoetter Pork. The taste difference between their pork and commerical pork is huge. I love buying from a local farmer that treats their animals with respect rather than support the unethical treatment by corporate mega farms. I highly recommend Huelslkoetter Pork!

    • Charlie, the issue here is not about the taste of Huelskoetter Pork, nor is it about the fact that they are a local farmer that treats their animals well verses a corporate farm. The issue is not alerting their consumers that their pork has food additives in it. This shifts this product from being something natural to something parallel to that of a commercial product.

  4. Derrick says:

    “Not alerting their customers?” It’s right there on the label. A few innocuous preservatives are of zero concern to me, and there’s no rational reason to be worried about them. I’ve got two pork chops thawing in the fridge right now and plan to enjoy them!

    • For some, Derrick – innocuous ingredients like MSG can send them into a terrible reaction. I am one of those people. At a glance, like at a table at the farmers market – Huelkskoetter Pork does not say that some of their pork contains preservatives. True, it’s on their label and once I read that I had to return their product. I personally feel preservatives like MSG are unnatural and this is where I feel Huelsketter Pork is misleading their consumer. Hope you enjoyed your dinner!

  5. Derrick says:

    Color me skeptical, but MSG sensitivity has never consistently shown in double-blind trials, even among those claiming to be sensitive. There are many naturally occurring sources of glutamate. There’s nothing to MSG that isn’t in Bragg’s seasoning, which I use all the time.

    • Derrick, I am not going to dispute or validate my MSG or any other food additive sensitivity with you or anyone else in the comment section of my blog. You can be as skeptical as you like!!

Leave a Reply

