Do You Make Taboule?

I get the hankering for Taboule a few times a year, perhaps it’s the “seasonal” ingredients I adore, or perhaps it’s the fact that it’s a refreshing and filling salad!!

Taboule is made with Quinoa – say KEEN _WA – a versatile high protein nutrient rich whole grain from the Andes, and one that is often tolerated by those with allergies to grain.

Cook one cup dried Quinoa in 2 cups water. Takes 12 minutes.

Mix with 1 C chopped parsley, 1/2 C chopped scallions, 2 T chopped fresh mint ( I always use more)  1 T chopped fresh basil, 1/2 C juice of a lemon, 1/4 C olive oil, 1-2 cloves Garlic chopped, 1/4 teas salt – i use sea salt and find a pinch is enough, loads of fresh ground white pepper.  I often need to add chopped tomato and crumbled feta cheese to my taboule. My version also smacks with garlic and mint, just my personal preference.

Ingredients for this salad were sourced from the certified organic Ackerman Farm – Angie promises me she will someday make this recipe, always asking me why I buy mint.   I love how Angie ties her bunches of herbs with yarn – a loving gesture somehow.  It makes me happy. She and her husband Tom are an integral part of my Saturday mornings at our Farmers Market.

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Make Taboule?

  1. Karen J says:

    Yum! (as I always say when I find your recipes!)

    A friend of mine uses sprouted red quinoa for part of the grain – makes for an intriguing change-of-pace look, taste and texture!

    Happy Autumn and Bright Blessings!
    K – the other Karen 🙂

  2. Pingback: Do You Make Taboule? | Best Of Mother Earth | Salat rezepte.

Leave a Reply

