Lunar Eclipse at Lazy K Bar Ranch: 1979

     
It was the summer of 1979. I had finished my first year of college, packed my car “joey” and headed on over to work at Lazy K Bar Ranch in Tuscon, Arizona. 

It was there I experienced my first lunar eclipse.


flickr image credit

I just went online hoping to find some history of the ranch, I heard it had been sold and homes built on the property – only to find that it’s still there!! I can believe it – it’s not exactly the ranch I worked at anymore, as many changes have occurred since then, but its not gone!!

I swear this post was going to be about an eclipse of the moon that I actually watched sitting in the foothills near this ranch and now I can’t get past the fact that the ranch is still in existence. I am utterly distracted by the stories and very fond memories racing in my head. 

I was invited to watch the eclipse by a co-worker, a wonderful way “older than me” man, who dazzled me with all his wonderful knowledge of nature, he knew the name of rocks, cloud formations, every single flower, he had knowledge about just about everything. He was a vietnam vet, very hippie like, and the son of the woman who assisted the owners, Milroy and Rosemary Blowitz in running the ranch. I thought he was pretty darn amazing. He was the dishwasher and the gardener. We would find ways to grab time and talk and I looked forward to those times very much.

I was the horse feeder, waitress, dining room setter-upper, housekeeper, barmaid, keeper of laundry – I did it all  – it’s an understatement that we worked our asses off.  I worked 6 days straight from 6 am until 9 pm. Had one day off and it all started over again. It was the best job I EVER had. I met people from all over the world! I made a ton of money. And talk about payton place – never in all my life did I ever see or experience more drama!

The ranch was nestled in the foothills, saguaro national park was nearby, oh my gosh seeing the cacti in full bloom in the spring was the most amazing natural sight I have ever seen. The history of the ranch is fascinating – formerly a stage coach stop, although that’s not what the website says. Hmmmm Sometimes I wonder what stories were real vs not — ya know?? 


blooming cactus flickr image credit

I had landed a job there during spring break while visiting the ranch with my family. This was one if the many family vacations at the ranch. I will say that these were probably the best family vacations we ever had, and it wasn’t because we were there together as a family – it was because of all the escapades that occurred while there. I will also tell you that when we left to go back home or to school I was always very sad, the place had this intoxicating effect on me – it totally got under my skin.

Watching the lunar eclipse from a middle of the santa cruz valley perspective was just stunning. The view in planet in the sky was a bit like watching molasses, but the effect it had on the earth is what floored me.  There were these amazing shifts in the view of the landscape, dessertscape and rockscapes – I remember it absolutely taking my breath away. I had no idea that this man had the hots for me, but he did. He waited until we had been up all night and had to go to work our shift to kiss me.  When he did kiss me he also he said I was way more interesting to watch than any lunar eclipse. That was pretty darn romantic! Needless to say we had the “I’ve just been kissed giggles” all day!

I did end up dating him and that period of time was positively precious and magical.  I was way too young to realize what a great catch he was, or the true feelings he had for me — he adored me.  I unfortunately was a very self centered young woman at the time.  

Darrell Muckleroy  (yes, that was his name!) if you are out there somewhere,  I’d love to know that you are happy and well.  I was an absolute ninny to let you go! 


the cowboy that got away flickr image credit

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunar Eclipse at Lazy K Bar Ranch: 1979

  1. What a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Karen Hanrahan says:

    You are very welcome!!

Leave a comment